Help out on our small organic family farm in the Sunnmøre alps, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 166 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our family farm is located in a valley surrounded by the Sunnmøre alps, the view is amazing with overhanging glaciers and steep mountains. With the well known powder paradise Stranda skiresort and more lokal Fjellsetra skiarena within 15 minutes. Plenty of hikes and more advanced mountaineering trips right outside the doorstep.

    We are a family of five, Vibeke, Fredrik, Heine two, Lerke 10 and Birk 11. Pluss Mio the greenland - sleddog, carmencita - dogo espanol, Lilja the working fjordhorse and two cats. We live on a a family farm with freerange mangelitsa pigs, chickens which lay coloured eggs, and a vegetable garden.

    We bought the farm two years ago and are fixing the over 100 year old buildings so that they will keep us warm and last for another hundred years.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The main house is over a 100 years old and we are setting it back to the way it was back then. The timber walls are beatiful an we can learn a lot from these old buildingtechniqes. We do use a working fjordhorse and have collected a-lot of the old traditional horsetools. A salmon river is running through our land, so some parts of the year its possible to go fishing for wild salmon. There are plenty of trails and hikes and the west coast fjords are very close. The jugend architecture city Aalesund are only 40minutes away and the surrounding area has a lot of viking history.

  • Help

    Help

    You might help us with house renovation, and painting, tend to animals, put up fencing or some gardenwork and weeding. If you like kids you can watch our two year old or help around the house.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are renovating the house, so the facilities are a bit messy from time to time. But here is one extra bedroom at least and two bathrooms. Also possible to pitch a tent/lavo by river.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can borrow the car, ride the horse, hike mountains, go skiing, swim in the lake and river or fjord and do naturestuff on your time off.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 724356977148