Come and join English-Polish couple and our Eco project in North-East Poland, Podlaskie



Favourited 583 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  • Description


    We live in a rural farming area, in North-East Poland, near to the Lithuanian border. It is a very clean environment, with no industry. There are many forests, beautiful lakes and clear rivers.

    We are an English-Polish couple - John and Ola. We have been Workaway hosts since 2013. Our project has been so far to renovate farm buildings using traditional and eco-friendly methods. We have done most of the work with the help of Workawayers.
    Now we would like to do more with our land, with more emphasis on organic gardens and self sustainable living.

    We have our own experience with volunteering in different countries so we understand the needs of Workawayers and we are very happy to share our experience and our hospitality.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workawyers can experience a simple life style here based on ecological responsibility towards this Earth.
    We have a "Green Library" where they can find books covering a wide variety of subjects, including eco-philosophy, organic and biodynamic gardening, as well as a good range of general reading material.
    We also encourage people to express their own creativity through the arts - music, painting, photography, sculpture, poetry, etc.
    We are inspired and supported by the eco-philosopher Prof. Henryk Skolimowski.
    We also keep updated with local cultural events, festivals, concerts and exhibitions in the area.

  • Help


    We need help in our gardens - building more raised beds, planting, weeding, harvesting, drying herbs, making jams and preserves. We still need a little help with renovation. Enthusiasm is more important than skills but if you have gardening, building, woodworking experience it would help.
    We share daily duties, cooking, shopping, dishwashing, dog walking.
    We do not have farm animals.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Polish

  • Accommodation


    We are a vegetarian household providing only vegetarian and vegan food. In the season most of our meals are prepared from our own vegetables.
    We provide bunk-house standard accomodation. Please bring your own sleeping bag.
    You could also stay in our (or your own) tent or camper.
    We do not have a bathroom (work in progress)!!!
    But we have an outside shower, compost toilet and water from the well. If you feel the need for your morning bath, we are only 10 minutes walk or 3 minutes by bike from the lake!!!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our house is 5km from Sejny which is the nearest town, the nearest railway station is Suwalki (20 km).
    This is a beautiful unspoiled area, a bird watching paradise. You can enjoy walking, cycling, canoeing on local rivers, wonderful silence and stars. We are close to Wigry National Park.
    In our local forest you can meet deer, wild boar, elk, squirrels and wolves. There is also a Beaver Nature Reserve.
    If you like long walks, runs, dogtrekking, our dog Maya would be a great companion for you and she can show you secret and magic places in our local forest.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 hours per day, depending on work and weather

There is a lake in our village where you can enjoy swimming and sunbathing
How to cook polish "pierogi" - my mum shares her secrets with Workawayers from Spain, Summer 2015
Workawayers from UK enjoy canoeing on Czarna Hancza river, Summer 2015
In our garden, Summer 2015
In our local forest
Beaver Nature Reserve, Marycha river, Winter 2015
You can bring your own tent as well!
Our garden, Spring 2015
Spring 2015, Amy helping to build a barn.
Summer 2014
Ola in the garden, Summer 2014
Workawayers from Spain, Summer 2013

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 718352221644

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more