Help wanted with just about everything in a village near Castelo Branco in Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/04/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I live on the outskirts of a tiny village near Castelo Branco in Portugal. It is very, very quiet so perfect for people looking for peace. Better if you are a couple or two friends, as otherwise you could get a bit bored. The house is fairly large and old, and is in the process of renovation, so not everything is perfect just yet. It sits in a plot of 3000sq metres in the process of planting up.
    We have 5 rescue dogs - all small, all friendly but all a bit odd.
    There is a railway station and bus stop within walking distance for travelling around the area.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are both English, but I speak fluent French and Richard speaks Dutch. I also have a smattering of schoolgirl German. Our Portuguese is abysmal, so would be delighted with a Portuguese person wishing to learn English. Or French.
    For night life, there is very little going on locally - we boast two small cafés/convenience stores and that's it. But Castelo Branco has all the normal things and there is a village nearby with an excellent cinema/cultural centre.
    If you are interested, I could introduce you to indian head massage and other energy practices.

  • Help

    Help

    What I mostly need is someone who can turn their hand to more or less anything. We are both in our 70s and running out of steam!
    Our small caravan has been moved to a more discrete area of the garden, but still needs a bit of TLC and the installation of bathroom. A shelter above would be nice.
    If you can wield a spade, lawnmower, tree loppers etc. you will be most welcome.
    Things to do could be different depending on the season. The yearly glut of figs and oranges needs dealing with as and when.
    I am the world's worst cook, so meals are usually simple but nourishing. My cake making skills aren't much better - look terrible, taste great. So please do not expect a gastronomic experience.
    If you prefer to do the cooking, you are more than welcome!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Dutch, a little German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is now upgraded to a double bedroom with lounge area and en-suite bathroom having knocked down lots of walls and built up others. There is another sitting room downstairs with TV DVD player and another bathroom. The caravan is also available if you value your privacy more than your comfort.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a railway station and bus stop within walking distance for travelling around the area. If you have a valid European or international driving licence, you are welcome to use hubbie's creaking but efficient 4 wheel drive. I am thinking about buying bikes for workawayer use, but would appreciate some ideas on that, as I know strictly nothing about bikes!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hrs a day 5 day week Negotiable

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 649582813445