updated  

Help at our lifestyle non profit farm, Portarlington, Victoria, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 68 times
  • Last activity: 31/01/2023

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a multi generational family living on our lifestyle farm we are a non profit farm on the Bellarine peninsula. Our names are Jaynie and David we are a married couple we share our home with our daughter Schai and her 5 children. On weekends we have our extended family visit.
    We have cows, chickens and dogs.
    We love to share our family life and our farm skills with other people.
    Our farm over looks port Philip bay, with views of Melbourne, the you yangs and swan bay.
    Our day to day life is a mixture of working on the farm, running children to activities and a lot of fun.
    We offer accommodations in our 1976 hino bus that has been converted into a home. So privacy is an added bonus. Home has own shower and toilet with kitchen. Everyone is welcome to share food from our pantry, cook for yourself or eat with the family.
    All that we ask is for you to fulfill work requirements. We will need help with maintaining the garden, vegetable garden, feeding cows, chickens and general cleaning. Some small building projects. Occasionally keeping children occupied and helping out with taking care of the day to day activities. We sometimes have small events and need help with setting up.
    There is always something to do and it is always different every day.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn skills pertaining to farm life and what it takes to run a large property

  • Help

    Help

    Helping on farm and in house. Gardening, etc
    Painting helping out with children small building projects

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Bahasa Indonesian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    1976 Hino mobile home (old Bertha bus)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As we live on the Bellarine peninsula we are close to Geelong and the surf coast.
    Beach’s and wineries are abundant. 1 1/2 hour to Melbourne

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 713692316645

Feedback (4)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Learn about regenerative agriculture, syntropic farming and permaculture in Doonan, Queensland, Australia
Help with a cabin and caravan renovation project in the hinterlands of Byron Bay, Australia