Help with childcare, repairs and gardening in the West Chilcotin, British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a multi-generational family living in the heart of the West Chilcotin in British Columbia Canada. We are looking for some extra help with child care, and a few projects around the property. We offer a separate house for your visit located close-by on the property. We have participated in student exchange programs in the past and thoroughly enjoyed welcoming someone into our family and are looking for that opportunity again.

    We believe communication is key, if something isn't working well for you (or us), talking it through and coming together for a new plan is something we're happy to do. Every person and situation is unique and we not only want our family to be happy and well settled we very strongly feel that the people we host should be given the same respect

    Our two boys are aged 10 and 6 and keep all of us on the run, they are inquisitive, and a handful in the best possible way, and love to be outside playing or learning new things in our family garden. We have multiple cats on the property our dogs Kato (a blue heeler) and Danko (a german shepherd).

    The projects we are interested in having worked on range from helping us fix some of the older structures on the property to collectively looking at ways to put in new green spaces that aren't always lawn.

    Our community is small but well rounded. We currently have a restaurant, two types of paid accommodations, post office, service station, general store, nursing clinic, school and a church. There are many guest and cattle ranches in the area along with an active forestry industry. We tend to be an active family when time allows us to and would love the opportunity to show you the Chilcotin, you would be treated as part of our family while you were here. Going to different events and joining into part of our social circle while not required would certainly be offered.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer a wide range of local culture being in the heart of our rural community. There are vast trails for hiking, biking, camping, and wildlife viewing. Primarily English speaking it would be a great opportunity for someone looking to sharpen their skills in this language. There would be exposure to the local populace and any events such as rodeo, music festivals, private functions, even horse back riding can be arranged. We aren't your typical ranch experience in Canada but I think we have something to offer in the simple knowledge of the area that we have and our connection to this wild Chilcotion region.

  • Help

    Help

    We are mostly looking for childcare as time allows there are some projects we could look at doing together around the property and if mother nature blesses us our small but nicely kept garden can always use love.

    Time wise we usually need childcare four days a week, and it varies slightly what's needed each day. We try to be as fluid as possible and adjust around everyone's needs not just our own. Some mornings might see the us needing help early, while other days it might be longer in the afternoon. You have three days to yourself, but are welcome to spend that time with us if we go to the lake and such or even just want to chill and see what we're up to. Our house is open to you!

    Our two boys love to be outside and learn new things, language exposure would be amazing given the ages that they are. They love to play in their gravel pit with trucks, play in the water with sprinklers, and help in the garden. At times they do get over-zealous in their "weeding" and things need to be replanted.

    The repairs not huge level jobs, we have an old greenhouse that needs work, it could become a garden shed or a greenhouse yet again. A dog run that needs a bit of love, and a couple wooden retaining walls in need of work along with a few other things my husband is thinking on that he hasn't shared with me just yet.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am interested more in my children learning a second language and of course what I am able to pick up but as an adult I understand it won't be as easy for me. We are able to offer assistance with English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation while small is cozy, we offer a one bedroom cabin on the property with a living space, bathroom, and partial kitchen. It is currently heated with wood has full power, limited wifi access. Improvements have been made to this structure over time as it was built at least 75 years ago. We are always looking for suggestions on what people feel would make it more comfortable. Since it currently isn't a full kitchen meal prep there is limited, we offer meals with our family to give you a better chance to get to know us and vice versa.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a busy life with two generations of our family living on the property, we ourselves have two active boys ages four and eight that we are looking for some extra help for. During downtime the world is literally your oyster with several lakes close by for fishing, swimming, windsurfing, kite boarding or just laying in the sun. We have vast mountain biking trails also suitable for hiking.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a large space able to accomodate water and or electrical hook-ups. For those that run off grid we get plenty of sun exposure as well.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    With some criteria, cats are not able to be located with us as we have several of our own already. Dogs upon approval. Other pets open to discussion.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week



Host ref number: 699766429347