Help teach my children near Bourke, in the true outback of Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/11/2019

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The true outback of Australia with red dirt and beautiful sunsets 64,000 acres with lots of Kangaroos, Emu's, sheep, goats & cows. We love animals and always have lots of pets like dogs,cats,horses, goats, chickens.
    My children are home schooled and because I run the farm, the classroom is where we need help the most, my children are 10 & 7 years old they are very friendly & enjoy learning.
    We live 84 kilometers from Bourke, we attend the Bourke christian church every Sunday & do pony club every second Sunday in winter months & your more then welcome to come with us. About once a month my children attend a small local school for social interaction & the traveling play group also come to our farm once a month.
    If you like bush walking, Kayaking on the river & animals this is the place for you.
    I'm learning to be a Life coach & I'm also involved with our local Landcare group, so I believe in positive programing & looking after our environment & I'm happy to share my knowledge with you.
    We have Internet & TV.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get the true insight to life on a large farm in the outback of Australia, I'm happy to share my knowledge on Life coaching, good vibrations & positive programing.

  • Help

    Help

    I need someone to teach my children home school in their air conditioned classroom in our house, it is sent in the post in weekly programs to follow & they also do Skype lessons with there Dubbo distance education school teacher, that I would need you to supervise. No teaching experience required just a good understanding of the English language & you must enjoy working with children. I'm often out working on the farm so I would need you to get lunch for the children & yourself, I'm a fairly good cook & there is always plenty of food in the house. We eat mostly meat style meals but it's no problem if your a vegetarian, you will be eating with us in the main house.
    You will have separate accommodation in a near new two bedroom air conditioned cottage, some times shared with other visitors.
    I would also be grateful if you could help with house cleaning & sometimes feeding the pets.
    Long stays are better for us, most school terms are 10 weeks, the older you are the better & if your traveling with a partner that's fine to as long as they don't mind helping me around the farm. I also don't mind if your traveling with children of school age that can join in the classroom.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Near new two bedroom air conditioned cottage next to the main house, sometimes shared with other visitors.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bourke has a tourist center, there is a river boat cruise, Mt Oxley lookout & some National parks.
    Country link has a daily train service from Sydney to Dubbo then a bus on to Bourke.
    We have had a wonderful experience with helpers over the years & made many good friends. We enjoy learning about other peoples lives & being open minded is so important, I want my children to understand that the world is huge & there is not just Australia & our way of life.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 689566678394