Join our family for a "home stay" experience Alexandria, Washington, D.C, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 84 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    139

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four living in Alexandria, VA, a suburb of Washington, D.C. We home school our two children, ages 7 and 10 and are looking for international students to broaden our lives. We love to host people that have have various skills and are open and willing to help with occasional babysitting, general household chores and maintenance projects. We eat very well and good food and meal times are important. We are gluten-free and eat a wide range of animal products, fruits and vegetables. We are non-smokers, non-religious, have pets, love to be outdoors, hike, camp, swim (all the time), have rowdy children, and generally love anything new and fantastic that comes our way!

    I am especially interested in hosting someone from Italy as I would like to keep up my Italian.

    Our house is in a very residential neighborhood and not within walking distance of any shops. Traveling into DC is usually a full day trip and is possible by bus and metro. We are very close to a spectacular bike and running trail and to Mount Vernon (the original home of George Washington). We play lots of games in the evenings and generally work hard and play hard!

    Typically we are looking for just one workawayer, but may be able to take families occasionally.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    By staying with us, you will gain experience in life and better your English. You will be able to spend time both in the city in DC, Arlington and Alexandria and in the woods and mountains of Virginia.

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers will be expected to help outdoors with gardening, landscaping, house maintenance, indoors with cooking or cleaning, and with kids school work.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, conversational Italian, very little French and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guest room in a four bedroom house. Queen-sized bed, shared bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunteers can travel to DC or surrounding areas - usually on a day off. Getting to DC takes about 45 minutes by bus and metro. You can bike ride into DC/Alexandria/Arlington (about 12 miles to DC) on the beautiful George Washington trail that runs along the Potomac River. We live in a very quiet, suburban neighborhood that is great for biking, walking and running. We are not walking distance to any shopping or restaurants, but some would be close enough to bike to (we have bikes to borrow).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 952198388757