Join our large furry family and help with our dog, puppies, garden & house in England, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 412 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/02/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    838

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    COUPLES ONLY PLEASE
    6 WEEKS MINIUM

    We (Rory and Liz) are property developers and work from home. We live in a busy house with lots of friends visiting and we like to laugh and have fun - life is too short not to! We love travelling and hearing about other countries and cultures.

    We are looking for dog loving Workawayers (couples only) to come & help us to care for our beloved dogs, cats & puppies and to help us with tasks within the house & our woodland & garden . Because the dogs fall in love with our Workawayers, we like our Workawayers to stay for 6 weeks.

    We live in a lovely village, an hour from London by train or car & 90 minutes drive from several seaside resorts including Brighton. Our nearest city is historic Guilford (25 mins) which boasts excellent shopping, restaurants, bars, cinema, bowling, ice skating & the renowned Yvonne Arnaud Theatre. Our nearest town is the Georgian Market Town of Farnham, a 10 min drive or a bus ride away. It's not going to get your pulse racing but it's pleasant enough with some period buildings, a vast deer park and shops & restaurants/bars/supermarkets etc.. There is a Subway, but it's of the fast food variety!

    Our village is approached by one of two medieval bridges & cricket (that weird English game that can last for 5 days) is played on the village green in the summer (a short walk from our house) in front of an incredibly old pub that serves great food along with local ales, it's quite buzzy in an old fart kinda way. This is the epicentre. Yup. It's pretty exciting around these parts. Jump onto Google and take a look at Farnham, Surrey and Tilford, Surrey. There are museums and visitor attractions nearby, you won't be short of things to do.

    We are also perfectly placed for exploring the South East/South West/Midlands - whether that's visiting Windsor Castle (close to Legoland), seeing the ponies wandering along the country roads in the ancient New Forest, taking in the spectacle of Stonehenge, or visiting Shakespeare Country. You know, all that stuff you've really wanted to see ...... Or maybe not.

    So you will have gathered by now that what we have to offer you is pretty rural and chilled but all the vibrant shizzle isn't too far away, if that's what you want of course.

    So, what else can we tempt you with other than reasonable rural WiFi?
    Well, if you like doing things outside, we live on the edge of a vast woodland area, not vast by Australian standards of course, but pretty dam big. It's great for walking or mountain biking (we have some you can use), in fact we live in dog walking heaven (we have some we'd like to lend!). We are within walking distance of Frensham Little Pond (stunning) and if you like playing tennis, there are two super courts at the end of our lane and 12 acres of garden, woodland & meadow to get lost in. We are also next to a gorgeous fishing lake and a golf course. We have uploaded photos of Farnham, Tilford Village green, our woodland and the fishing lake plus photos of our furry family :-)

    So we hope we've set the scene for our rural idyll, think slow paced & totally surrounded by nature, listen to the foxes, the incredible bird-life and the builders. Yes. The builders. Now is a good time to mention the house we are building next door.

    If you need to escape, our previous Workawayers have sussed out the local busses although if you have your own transport, that would be even better. We are of course happy to give a lift into Farnham or to the station to catch a train, our Workawayers often go away for the weekend from Friday mid afternoon to Sunday night to places such as Brighton, London or Oxford.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you want a taste of culture, it's all within striking distance, theatre, ballet, the history of our beautiful country. If you want to escape the rat race by day & be amongst it by night, that's possible too. We can offer a real sense of space and tranquility rarely found these days. There is something quite magical about our place in the country :-)

    We have really enjoyed having Workawayers here since August 2017 and look forward to meeting new people and having lively conversation over dinner :-) Please don't apply if you are shy and don't speak English very well - we love having Workawayers here and the more interesting they are, the more we like it :-) We are widely travelled ourselves so love to chat about that along with the differences between our cultures.

    We tend to find that this opportunity works best for Workawayers who have experienced the workplace and living independently. People who are used to following instruction, having responsibility and managing their own home.
    Life skills basically - so that’s what we look for when selecting from our applicants.

    We have in the past taken Workawayers on day trips to the seaside or the New Forest, StoneHenge or the cinema. We keep them advised of local events such as farmer's markets or food fayres, & take them with us if we are going.

  • Help

    Help

    So in exchange for all this living in the boonies stuff and being at one with nature, what do we want ?

    I'm hoping if you've read this far, you have an appreciation for nature, wildlife and animals, because we have it in spades. No, it's not a smallholding with cute little goats and whatnot (sadly), but it is doggy paradise, with an old senile Finnish Lapphund & two amazing Lapphund youngsters, two German Spitz Klein, a Pomeranian who thinks she is a Rottweiler and two cats, so it does feel a bit like a zoo! We'd really appreciate some help with them - it won't be much of a hardship, they are super friendly engaging creatures. We may ask for them to be fed or walked, or to give them a groom - a bit of attention and they will love you forever. Because of this, experience with dogs would be appreciated and a genuine love for them is VITAL, especially needed on the odd occasion when the senile dog wants food, just five minutes after being fed. Please don't apply if you don't love dogs and animals and please make a point of mentioning any experience of dogs, even if it's just growing up with one. If we are out for the day, we would want you to act as 'locus parentis' and feed our pets and love them in our absence. We will ask you to pick up dog poo from the garden, just saying ;-) We will also require household chores & ironing to be done to a high standard and 1-2 hours per day will be tasks such as emptying the dishwasher, sweeping and hoovering etc. . All the jobs Liz doesn't want to do, ha! If we have puppies during your stay, we will need help with cleaning their pen, socialising them and cuddle testing them :-)

    The outside chores can involve gardening, clearing woodland, planting, clearing up round the building site. We also hope to start an organic vegetable garden, build a chicken run for a few rescue chicken for fresh eggs. So you need to be fit and happy to work outside in most weathers.
    There is quite a lot mr manual labour required - so strength is necessary. We have found in the past that one person likes to do the household tasks whilst the other likes the outside tasks. At this time of year there is a lot of jet washing of patios and cars, also clearing g woodland. In the summer it is grass cutting and weeding.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can now offer accommodation in our beautiful mobile home, it has a double bedroom plus a second bedroom, an open plan living room with dining area fully kitted galley kitchen with oven hob and microwave. It is doing ble glazed with central heating. WiFi and TV. This is the official blurb - The Swift Burgundy boasts a compact yet elegant living space with stylish, deep-filled sofas in a subtle colour scheme. The classic galley kitchen has all the appliances to make this a home from home. You will love retiring to the calm tranquillity of it and it is all finished to a superb standard and with ample storage space. And this is our blurb - it is located in a tranquil part of the grounds with no immediate neighbours - just you, the field and the birds.
    It is your responsibility to keep it clean in your own time. There is a no smoking rule inside.

    Half your day will be spent either in our house or on our land & the other half of the day is yours to explore the local area, go up to London or simply chill & do nothing. What I'm saying is that this experience is what you decide to make it - if you think it's luxury living then you will be disappointed , if you think it's something completely different - rural, basic, heaps of nature, adoration by our animals, good food & lots of fun, then you won't.

    You are welcome to join us for a meal next door in the evening two evenings a week., sometimes more often. We tend to 'eat clean' (Liz is vegetarian and likes to eat plant based meals) and we prefer to prepare fresh wholesome meals. We will ask you each week for a shopping list or drop you at a supermarket with some money so you can fetch your own groceries - you will fix your own breakfast/lunch and evening meal five nights a week. If you ever fancy cooking and eating with us, that's cool! Or maybe make pudding one evening ....

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Hopefully we've covered everything but don't hesitate to ask if you have any questions. It goes without saying that we want you to love animals as much as us and to fully appreciate this opportunity, you'll need outdoor boots, be pretty fit, have a desire to be active and a sense of humour. A good standard of English both verbal and written is required.

    Do read our reviews to see what other Workawayers have thought of their stay including the negative one - sadly those people were Walkawayers not Workawayers, they didn't read our profile properly & were totally unsuitable for the opportunity available. Only apply if you completely understand the description of life here & what we are looking for :-)
    And remember COUPLES ONLY and to stay for 6 WEEKS (we may consider 5 weeks but not less).

    We look forward to hearing from you! 😬

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Here’s your accommodation - isn’t it cute!
The interior of your accommodation.
The interior of your accommodation.
Liz and a puppy and her Grandaughter
One of our previous Workawayers and his friends 😁
Our ‘pack’
Us!
The tasks take place in our new house & grounds/woodland.
Our dogs plus their friends :-) This is where your ‘home’ is located on our property. What a view!
Farnham
Our woodland
My new baby

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.6)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.4)

















Host ref number: 676175119963