Help a small off-grid farm practicing regenerative agriculture located in East London, South Africa

Country

South Africa

Favourited 122 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small off-grid farm practicing regenerative agriculture. At the moment we're currently running 150 laying hens across our pasture and our goal is to have 500 birds by the end of the year. We are in the process of setting up a small orchid and we're constantly earmarking areas for perennial herbs and flowers. We grow most of our own veggies and would love to get some other livestock in the future.

    Vaughn is a surf fanatic and Pi is a qualified yoga teacher so any workawayers who are interested can add these two activities to the weekly regime. We like to work hard and having animals is a 365 day a year commitment but there's always time in the day for a paddle and a stretch.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We're located just outside the city of East London in South Africa. There are many cultural activities and experiences available and workawayers should just ask if they are interested.
    On the farm we want to share our experiences with natural living, off the grid systems, trying to farm regenerative in the south african bush. There's such a mix of cultures here because of the history of the country and we're happy to help you explore them.

  • Help

    Help

    Maintaining the veggie garden and trees
    Work with our layers (collecting eggs, feeding ect)
    Building new garden beds
    Planting trees
    Various other farm jobs that seem to pop up and never end

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    Sami: Beginner
    Swedish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We will offer workawayers a large canvas tent with a big awning attached. This was our home for 14 months while we built our house. There is a double pallet bed so you're off the ground when you sleep and while it definitely cools down here in winter, its still very mild. In any case we will ensure that you're well taken care of and comfortable. Our main house will be a central hub where workawayers can keep stuff in the fridge and hangout when the weather is bad.
    We will provide two meals a day (breakfast and dinner). These meals will be vegetarian most of the time.
    Transport will potentially be the biggest hurdle as we currently share one car so while we will try our best to coordinate logistics it may be useful to have your own transport.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are a multitude of activieties available all within an hour of our farm. Town is 13 km away but there are shops 4km down the road. We are not isolated at all. Feel free to write to us to find out more about whats on offer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 675588256638