Live off-the-grid in island paradise in New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 135 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an New Zealand/Irish family with a passion for the outdoors and a desire to live as close to nature as possible. Andy is a builder and Deborah runs a stargazing tour company. In our spare time we fish, dive, surf, garden or play on the beach with our son.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We welcome you to be part of our family, learn from us, be part of our off-the-grid lifestyle and contribute your energy, skills and passions to our fun and busy days. You could learn how to make your own yogurt, muesli and sourdough bread too.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love your help! Your main task will be creating adventures with our easy going, outdoor loving 4 year old son. Other tasks will be assisting us with maintaining the garden, cutting the lawns, cleaning and help around the house.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room with a comfortable king sized bed in our newly renovated house.

    Your meals are included. Usually, you will prepare your own breakfast of Deb's homemade muesli and yogurt, and lunch based around home baked sourdough bread. Deb will cook everyone’s dinner most nights. Many of your dinners will include freshly caught fish, locally sourced meat and vegetables from the garden. If you love to cook please say. The cook always enjoys a break!

    Fruit can be expensive here. If you like to munch on fruit, or other snacks, we ask that you provide these yourself. There are a couple of small shops on the island (several kilometres away from the house) or you could bring some fresh fruit with you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have 2 kayaks, 2 basic mountain bikes, boogie boards and a beginner surf board that you are welcome to use. We live 1km from a stunning, white sand surf beach that our friends and helpers love to hang out on. And there are many beautiful hikes all over Great Barrier Island, from 30 minutes to 3 days.
    There is no public transportation on the island. There is a shuttle that can be booked to help you get to/from the ferry or a hike. Or hitchhiking is common and safe on our friendly island.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Deborah, Airt and Andy at our local beach
Deborah and Airt on the ferry
Airt munching carrots from our garden
Your room
Andy and Airt out in the tinny
Airt on Medlands beach (our closest beach)
Cycling on the beach at low tide :)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 958382375131