Help give unwanted horses a home and give them TLC in a small town, Armstrong, B.C. Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 51 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/06/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    For many years I have taken in unwanted horses, spent some time with them and eventually rehomed them. I live on a small acreage in the North Okanagan, in a town called Armstrong, B.C. I have a fairly large house with a couple of spare bedrooms, fully furnished and comfortable. I also haul livestock commercially for the past four years. What i would really prefer is my current horses having some one on one attention, helping to organize my tack room and simple routine chores. My horses though would be the main focus. Currently i have 19 here. All are gentle and kind, all sizes, all breeds. My home is located directly across the highway from town, a simple ten minute walk and you would be greeted by kind friendly members of our little town.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am very knowledgeable in all aspects of the equine world, i would be more than happy to share my knowledge with a person eager to learn....

  • Help

    Help

    Mostly i would like people with horse knowledge, logical instincts, common sense, etc....and not minding the farm lifestyle, lately it's been raining and dreary so mud boots are in style around here!😉

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have 2 fully furnished extra bedrooms here, large rooms, its a 2 story house, 5 bedrooms , 3 bathrooms, large fenced yard, nice hot tub which is used daily. Ten minute walk to town, i do have a Rottweiler and 3 mature cats so hopefully no one with allergy issues applies to come stay. Wifi and DVD are the main source of entertainment and although I keep alot of groceries i prefer my visitors would just help themselves and eat when they want, what they want. No meal schedules in place.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My town is just ten minutes north of the larger city of Vernon, B.C. There is a bus i believe every 4 hours and the bus stop is about a 5 minute walk across the highway. Days of I'm sure could be filled with trips up to Silver Star Ski Resort, mountain biking, floating the Enderby River, maybe we load up horses and attend a local gymkhana etc.... lots to do here!!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 664294461167