Help us establish an eco-reserve and create a chocolate brand in small village surrounded by tropical rainforest in Quito, Ecuador

Country

Ecuador

Favourited 73 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/08/2022

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Stefano Bajak (photographer) Ecuadorian born, and Chrissy van der Linden (production manager) Dutch-born. We fell in love with each other while we were shooting a Dutch film in Ecuador and since then we became a great team.

    We decided to move to Mompiche; a small village surrounded by tropical rainforest, located in the province of Esmeraldas; on the north coast of Ecuador. This area is known as Corredor de Conservación Choco-Magdalena or the CCCM, a strategic ecosystem for the entire planet. We became mesmerized with this paradise and realize that we have to do something to protect the biodiversity that exists here.

    We build our house 3 kilometres from the ocean on a hill surrounded by Low Land Rainforest. No neighbours, only the sound of the howler monkeys, and loads of birds flying around. Three years ago we started our foundation named Save the Paradise. Our main goal: acquire and save as much Low Land Rainforest as possible to save it from deforestation. Living here means living in a place where you are surrounded by nature, silence and nothing more than that. Its a beautiful experience. 5 minutes by car you will reach the town (20 minutes walking), there you can find restaurants, buy your groceries, fresh bread and a nice cup of coffee. Many expats have been coming and settling in Mompiche. It's a very easy going town.
    We have a baby boy of 8 month old, his name is Silas. Also we have 4 dogs and 1 cat; Juana, Sacha, Melissa, Tin Tin and the cat Tigre. All of them are rescued from the street. Besides being super good guardians for the place, it's also much fun to go with them to the beach or to the river in the forest for a nice swim and walk.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a non-profit foundation and we fight to protect the rainforest on the north coast of Ecuador.

    Our mission is to restore the balance in this ecosystem. The land will be bought on the foundation’s name and legally designated as an ecological reserve in perpetuity; this secures it from any kind of commercial, agricultural or industrial use.

    The tropical forest is a strategic ecosystem for the survival of all species that inhabit the planet. At this moment this is all threatened by deforestation for the purpose of palm-oil plantations, shrimp farms and livestock farms intended for the food industry.

    It is very important that we work together to combat climate change and create a friendly future for the next generations.

  • Help

    Help

    Preferably we are looking for a couple with know how of permaculture for gardening projects by the property and in the cacao farm , and/or knowledge of working with bamboo and/or construction with eco materials, knowledge on marketing and social media management for the foundation.
    As we are travelling to Europe, we need a couple that can stay in our house for at least 4 months from mid April to the end of august 2022. Staying here means taking care of our dogs and cat, gardening and mind you this is not just simple gardening! It's working with a machete, chopping where needed, mowing the lawn, maintenance of the house, keeping it clean. You have to be a super active do-er who loves to be in nature. if you have some of these skills or the will to learn, this is the perfect place to do it.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a wonderful house on the edge of the tropical forest of Mompiche Ecuador; the house is a peaceful sanctuary surrounded by nature. We are 3 km away from Mompiche town.
    From our house you can see when the waves come in. Surfing here is really nice. If you can't surf yet then this is the place to learn it as it has a very friendly waves. If you pass our house you can walk down to the forest, for a nice swim in a crystal clear river.
    There several beaches near by, were you can enjoy your free time. there is tours to see the mangrove forest, other areas of the rainforest and from July whale watching tours begin
    Most important for us is that you take good care of our animals, our house and the surrounding. Our dogs need a lot of exercise and love. We take them daily to the beach or river. Also we expect the people to always communicate with us if something goes wrong so we can help. It is very important for us not to hear about a sick dog, a lost cat a leak of our house a week later. Unfortunately we have had this experience and we lost one of our cats. We know many people here and if something happens we can always let them come to the house to help, or fix something.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The helpers can enjoy trips to the jungle, mangrove or have a nice time in Mompiche town or the beach.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have quite a good internet connection, our average speed of internet is 30mb/s

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 662839334356