We are a family starting an agroecology project in the city of Cotacahi - Ecuador

Country

Ecuador

updated  

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Please contact in Spanish
    Hello, we are starting a permaculture design project in a farm located in Cielo Verde in the Intag Zone, our intention is to be able to implement all the zones of a permaculture design focused on Syntropic Agriculture techniques with the vision of forming edible forests.

    Hola estamos comenzando un proyecto de diseño de permacultura en una finca ubicada en Cielo Verde en la Zona de Intag nuestra intención es poder implementar todas las zonas de un diseño permacultural enfocados en técnicas de Agricultura Sintrópica con la visión de formar bosques comestibles.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are currently six people living on the farm, the owners of the Farm are a family of Mexicans, two adults, an 8-year-old girl and a 14-year-old boy who have lived in Ecuador for 8 years and who decided to come to live in a place calmer and biodiverse. They have been on the farm for almost two years. I am Jorge, Ecuadorian, nice to meet you! :) I am the person in charge of making the permaculture design on the farm and the person in charge of contacting and coordinating the volunteer issue and this is my mother, an Ecuadorian, who also lives on the farm and helps us with the issue of food and others activities here in the place ... How can you see here on the farm there is a very cool cultural mix you can share various knowledge from cooking recipes to stories and traditions of both nationalities apart from knowledge in the agricultural part ... The idea is that we can share and exchange knowledge among all the people who are living on the farm!


    Somos actualmente seis personas viviendo en la finca, los dueños de la Finca son una familia de mexicanos, dos adultos, una niña de 8 años y un chico de 14 años que viven ya 8 años en Ecuador y que decidieron venir a vivir en un lugar más tranquilo y biodiverso. Ellos llevan ya casi dos años en la finca. Yo soy Jorge, ecuatoriano, mucho gusto! :) soy la persona encargada en hacer el diseño de permacultura en la finca y la persona encargada de contactar y coordinar el tema de voluntariado y esta mi madre, ecuatoriana, que también vive en la finca y nos ayuda con el tema de alimentación y otras actividades aquí en el lugar... Cómo pueden ver aquí en la finca hay una mezcla cultural muy chevere se podrá compartir conocimientos varios desde recetas de cocina hasta historias y tradiciones de ambas nacionalidades aparte del conocimiento en la parte agrícola... La idea es que podamos compartir e intercambiar conocimientos entre todas las personas que estemos habitando la finca!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need people who want to help and collaborate in any task that is needed on the farm, we are currently starting several jobs so we need people committed to collaborating in the development of these activities

    Necesitamos personas que deseen ayudar y colaborar en cualquier tarea que se necesite en la finca, actualmente estamos empezando varios trabajos así que necesitamos de personas comprometidas en colaborar en el desarrollo de estas actividades

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    English: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a cabin for volunteers with two bedrooms, a living area and private bathroom, the kitchen area is communal, we offer three meals a day, five days of volunteering, between 4 to 5 hours a day of work, we have a pond, swimming pool where you can relax quietly.

    Disponemos de una cabaña para voluntarios con dos habitaciones una área de estar y baño privado, el área de cocina es comunal, ofrecemos las tres comidas del día, cinco días de voluntariado, entre 4 a 5 horas diarias de labores, tenemos un estanque, piscina donde puedes relajarte tranquilamente.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The farm is located about 5 hours from the city of Quito, we are in the area known as the Chocó Andino Biosphere, there is public transport from Quito to the town of Cielo Verde and from there it is a 15-minute drive to the farm. You will be able to know one of the most biodiverse areas of Ecuador and be able to feel and experience a subtropical climate since we are right at the transition point between the Andean and coastal zone of Ecuador.


    La finca está ubicada a unas 5 horas de la cuidad de Quito, estamos en la Zona conocida como la Biosfera del Chocó Andino, hay transporte público desde Quito hasta el poblado de Cielo Verde y de ahí son 15 min en auto hasta la finca. Podrán conocer una de las zonas más biodiversas del Ecuador y poder sentir y experimentar un clima subtropical ya que estamos justo en el punto de transición entre la zona andina y costera del Ecuador.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 654364747264