Visit our family hobby farm and explore nature's playground on Coldstream Creek, BC Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 54 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come stay in the sunny Okanagan on a 2 acre hobby farm on Coldstream Creek. We have Yurt, studio and a travel trailer for accomodations. We are surrounded by sparkling lakes and mountains with plenty of opportunity to explore nature's playground. We are looking for 1 to 2 travelers with experience in growing food, caring for animals and basic building skills. Equestrians who would like to work with horses would be bonus.
    We are raising chickens for eggs,rabbits and painted desert sheep. Couple kitties and a goofball dog.

    We have bicycles to use, a canoe and double kayak. Vernon is about 12 km away from our house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Improve English skills and to learn how to run a small hobby farm. Learn all aspects of growing food and eating what you harvest. Potential to earn some extra money selling fruits and berries at local market. Opportunity to build alternative energy appliances such as a pizza oven and solar oven. Many opportunities for site seeing, hiking, swimming. biking.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening, landscaping, weeding, harvesting and potentially selling fruit , veggies
    Building an outdoor kitchen and pizza oven.
    Building a solar powered outdoor oven.
    Build an outdoor shower
    Caring for chickens. Egg layers and growing meat birds. Revising the coop. Make a chickshaw!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Groovy 24ft Yurt

    19 ft fully contained travel trailer overlooking the creek with great privacy. it sleeps 6 ( better with 1 or 2 people only ) and has a fridge, stove, toilet. Shower

    Creekside studio under construction

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Swim in all the lakes, fishing, camping, hiking, rail trail, mountain biking, boating wine tours.
    We go into town several times a day. We expect participation in the daily chores. You are responsible for making your own breakfast and lunches. Dinners would be made together and communal and shared or made ahead for self serve style. The garden will produce an excellent harvest and the chickens make all the eggs you can eat.
    We are laid back and easy going and are respectful of others need for space and privacy.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a full hook up RV pad

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 4 to 5 days a week



Host ref number: 288971719712