Experience farm life under the mountains on Vancouver Island!, Canada

  • Favourited 85 times
  • Last activity: 21 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of five who homestead on 124acres on Vancouver Island. We have lots of animals! Cows, horses, goats, pigs, rabbits, ducks, geese, and chickens. Dogs and cats too. We have three children a boy and two girls between the ages of 5-1.

    We moved onto this property in November of 2022 and it has been a lot of work as we strive towards living more self sustainably. We have a gorgeous view of the mountains, a beautiful large creek, and a large portion of our land is still quite wild. We have seen lots of wildlife here from bears, elk, deer, and evidence of cougars.

    I used to be on Workaway before I met my husband and want to offer an amazing farm stay experience like I received in the past!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will most likely get to see a lot of Canadian wildlife while with us. Being on the coast you will get a taste for Canadian west coast culture. There is so much history to be explored in the Comox Valley. There is also an amazing farmers market that happens weekly close to our farm where you can get a taste for local food and art. Staying with us you will get a taste of what rural living in Canada looks like. If you are adventurous and love the outdoors, Canada's west coast is the place for you!

    Courtenay also hosts a free women's self defence class weekly that I attend that many workaways in the past have enjoyed attending with me too😁

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    In the spring help with our garden would be amazing! This will be our first year planting a vegetable garden on this property and so I'm sure it will have its challenges but also will be a rewarding experience. Tasks will include weeding, planting seeds, transplanting, pest control, and irrigation. There is also a flower garden around the house that needs weeding and tending to periodically as well.

    We tend to have lots of baby animals in the spring too who sometimes need to be bottle fed.

    The rest of the year mostly help with socializing the animals, some child care occasionally, and odd projects. Our one horse is broke to ride but hasn't been ridden in years so he would need an experienced rider to work with him.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a private room for workaways in our house with a shared bathroom. We have Wifi and a washer and dryer available too! We have a bike workaways are welcome to use to explore on in their off time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you like to ski or snowboard we are right at the base of Mount Washington which also has plenty of hiking trails. Courtenay is only a five minute drive from the farm and has a beautiful downtown and museums. There are so many beautiful hikes nearby and in the valley. Cumberland is not far and has awesome mountain bike trails. Tofino is about a 3 1/2hour drive but it's gorgeous and you can surf there. Coastal wildlife tours are also available in Campbell River which we drive to frequently

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We are on over 100 acres so there is lots of space to park your van or camper!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 887666747818

Feedback (2)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Help with gardening and DIY projects at country farmhouse on Prince Edward Island, Canada
Join our team in a Cabot Trail based Eco-hostel / campground , Canada