Family Farmstay on beautiful Salt Spring Island, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

updated   Last minute

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/01/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
Join now to contact this host
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Availability starting Feb. 8th

    Welcome! Our family of six is just starting a small, organic family hobby farm on 5 acres on beautiful Saltspring Island. Our 4 children, aged 4 years to 9 years, are very active and excited to care for our animals (goats, chickens, turkeys, ducks, cats, dogs) and plan/develop gardens. This year we had lots of baby animals, and this fall we just got a chocolate lab puppy that needs lots of training. We are looking for helpers who LOVE children and want to be part of a big, loud family! This is a great way to practice English and be part of a Canadian family. Helpers live in our home and are included in family life. Tara has taught English internationally and really enjoys helping with language learning.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Helpers learn about life in a Canadian family, as well as care of animals and gardens. Our four children love to talk to wwoofers and play games with them, so there is lots of opportunities to practice English all day long!

  • Help

    Help

    We ask for a mix of indoor and outdoor work. Our daily routine is for volunteers to help from 8-10am with both indoor and outdoor chores. Indoor morning help includes breakfast clean-up, making bread, and helping with the children. Outdoor help includes caring for the goats, chickens, ducks, and turkeys. The younger children will come along with you and help with the chores or play nearby, so you can take your time and enjoy the small helping hands. In the fall we got a puppy who needs help with training. She will become a therapy dog.

    Helpers then have free time from 10-12noon. We have lunch at 12noon, and helpers help again from 2:30-dinner time. 2:30-4:30pm we have various projects depending on the time of year (gardening, small construction projects, chopping wood, weeding, cleaning) and 4:30pm is animal feeding. Dinner is around 5:30/6pm, and helpers help with clean-up after meals.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some German and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Helpers have their own bedroom in our house (and it can be loud sometimes!). We go on lots of fun adventures with the children and would love you to join our family. Because it takes a little bit of time to get to know our children and animals, we prefer helpers to stay 1-2 months (minimum stay 3 weeks). Most helpers stay about 1 month and we find that works quite well. We host helpers year round, and in winter there is still outdoor work (animal feeding, construction etc), but also more indoor work (childcare, cleaning, baking etc).

    We eat local meat/fish but can accomodate vegetarians. We eat a lot of our own dairy and eggs, which we get from our animals, as well as our meat birds. We have small children, and we are looking for non-smoking helpers who welcome little ones joining in the work with them. We are interested in helpers who are able to share their culture with our family and children. It is very important to us that you can positively interact with the children while working/ living in our home, so interest and enjoyment of children is absolutely necessary!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a short walk to Fulford village where there are some shops and public transportation to town (Ganges). Fulford Village (10 minute walk) is also where you can catch a 35 minute ferry to Victoria. From our house you can walk to the beach, ocean, hiking trails, and a swiming lake. We homeschool, and we go on various fieldtrips that you are welcome to join with us. We love to hike and have weekly picnic dinners at the ocean in nice weather.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week (and meal clean-up)

Host ref number: 649256546257