Come and help us work our croft on the beautiful Isle of Jura, United Kingdom

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 90 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️Just had a cancellation for June / July and we're looking for help with some outdoor jobs including painting the house, clearing some ground, etc. Also possibly some small diy jobs if you have the experience.*️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    We're a mother and (adult) daughter living on a 12 acre croft on the remote but beautiful Isle of Jura which is home to about 230 people. We both recently moved back to be closer to family and we're looking to cultivate the land we have (which is currently mainly woodland and rough ground) . Min stay 1 week, ling term stays welcome.

    Our croft sits just up the hill above the main village of Craighouse, which is the hub of island life. There's lots to do on the croft - starting with clearing some land and creating a veggie patch - and there's also plenty going on in our close knit community. If you need supermarkets, coffee shops and cinemas to entertain you this probably isn't the place for you (though the mobile cinema comes over every few months!). However, if you love the outdoors and want to experience life in a small, welcoming Scottish community, we might just be the right hosts for you!

    We are an open and inclusive household welcoming people regardless of gender, age, ethnicity, religion, sexuality or identity. We're looking for volunteers with the same mindset.

    Getting here: Although we are quite remote it is relatively straight forward to get to us by public transport (1 bus and 2 ferries from Glasgow) at a cost of about £30. We will send full information how to get to us once a stay is agreed.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gartenarbeit
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Jura is a truly unique island. For 6 months of the year we have no direct mainland ferry (you have to travel via the neighbouring island of Islay). In the summer we also have a 12 seater speedboat which connects us to the mainland. This creates a very special way of life which would be foreign even to many people living on mainland Scotland - our lives are governed by the weather, by ferry timetables and by the landscape, and this creates a strong sense of community and hospitality.

    For a small island, there is a fantastic creative scene (remoteness breeds creativity) with regular music sessions, several working artists, and even a recording studio on the island. Our ceilidhs are legendary. Oh - and did we mention that this is where George Orwell lived when he wrote 1984? Apparently he was a lovely man.

    There is a wealth of history here too - from the legend of the Scandinavian prince who drowned in the Corryvreckan whirlpool trying to win the heart of a local girl, to the ancient standing stones, to the historic photos and recordings of island life in the 20th century.

    And we haven't even mentioned the scenery - described as one of Europe's last wildernesses, most of the island is a ruggedly beautiful, with the three Paps of Jura dominating the skyline for miles, and the wild west coast offering sea stacks, raised beaches, waterfalls, golden eagles, red deer, dolphins, otters and more.

    In short - there is more than enough to keep you occupied at our truly unique work away stay.

  • Help

    Help

    We're looking for help clearing ground, painting the outside of the house, gardening and with some small DIY tasks. There is also general maintenance required on tracks and ditches throughout the year.

    If you have construction experience there may be an opportunity to help Kirsten build and fit out her glass studio.

    On days when the weather is too bad to work outside you may be asked to work on indoor maintenance jobs or housework.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    During the summer accommodation will be in our comfortable caravan. The caravan has electricity and a kettle and toaster. It sleeps 2 people in single beds and includes a separate seating area.

    The bathroom for the caravan is just inside the backdoor of the house - about 10 metres from the caravan.

    You will be provided with breakfast provisions. Lunch and dinner will be with the family where possible (we may be out for meetings etc), otherwise a meal will be provided.

    Please note, the island has one tiny shop and we tend to buy in bulk on the mainland plan our supplies a few months at a time. This makes it difficult for us to provide a varied diet for vegans and means that we're not currently able to cater for people with very specific dietary requirements.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your time off there will be plenty of opportunity to explore the island's hills and beaches. Regular community events include dances, fishing competitions, music in the pub, singing groups, etc. There are several buses a day which will let you explore Jura and the neighbouring island of Islay further if you do not have your own car, and there are also bikes available to hire locally.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Average 4 /5 hours a day, 5 days a week - some flexibility to working schedule




Host ref number: 647896392255