Welcoming people who want to develop themselves and others and live in a beautiful, peaceful rural setting in Balblair, the Black Isle, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 1408 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    44  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 23 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a natural and peaceful rural setting in the Black Isle, Scotland. For almost 5 years we have been hosting people from all over the world to come and work with our Newfoundland dogs. We have enjoyed and really benefited from the cultural diversity within our home, it makes life so much more interesting to share ideas, cooking, conversations, opinions and humour with people from all different backgrounds and ideals. We have appreciated and shared the positivity and openess to new experience which all travellers have brought and would like to invite people to come and work with our daughter.

    Poppy is 17 and planning to go to college in September to do a HNC in Social Sciences. She has cerebral palsy which make co-ordinated and functional movement difficult and therefore gets support to achieve every day tasks. She drives a power chair, controlling it with a cool head set. We are looking for helpers to enable Poppy to do what she wants to do.

    Liath and I have another daughter who is going off to University in September, however will be home for visits! I am a self employed Pilates teacher which I love.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will benefit from the peacefulness of our environment and the impact of nature. You will have the opportunity to grow as a person and be encouraged on your journey. You will gain insight, inspiration and practical experience in supporting others. You would gain access to our family culture and Scottish way of life. You will have the opportunity, peace and time to learn whatever you like.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for interesting, caring, fun females that like chatting to help with Poppy and be around to support her to get on with the next steps in her life . This would involve attending college with her, sitting in on lectures, taking notes, going to the library, studying, help her eat, drink, go to the toilet, attend clubs like musical theatre and drama, socialising, tidying her room, exercising from pilates to cycling, anything really that she wants help with, promoting her independence. You would basically be the "hands" as she is definitely the brain.

    It is an exciting opportunity to support an inspiring young lady, experience Scottish education and live in a beautiful, calm environment surrounded by nature.

    This would suit people who are interested in gaining experience in a therapeutic and developmental approach. There will be a team of four working with Poppy so we are looking for open minded, liberal people who can work together and on their own initiative. Self motivated and responsible. Poppy will be studying Social Sciences so an interest in this would be beneficial.

    We are looking for people who like to develop themselves and others. Easy going, self motivated, team spirited, honest individuals.

    Sharing our accommodation has really taught us about the different definitions of clean and tidy and different levels of tolerance to the completion of household chores - lol. So we would look for people that are able to clean up after themselves without being asked and support the overall operation of the house.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our house is a detached cottage surrounded by almost an acre of established garden, the surrounding area is farmland. Your bedroom would be within the house upstairs (sleeps two) or within our log cabin with wood burning stove , there are two bathrooms, shared living /dinning room and kitchen with ourselves within the house. Wifi available.

    Food will be provided, please help yourself and we can share the cooking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will be able to explore the local area, the roads are great for cycling, running or walking with routes throughout the Black Isle. There is rowing and tennis in Cromarty. Inverness, capital of the Highlands is 21 miles from our house and we are equi-distance from 3 local villages, where the local shops are. Cromarty is particuarly beautiful and you can go rowing, play tennis and enjoy their amazing bakery and cheese shop. Fortrose is the hot spot for dolphins in Scotland and there is a beautiful beach. We live next to the bird sanctuary and our beach is a 10 minute walk. There are historical sites to explore from the tiny Groam House museum in Rosemarkie to the Culloden battlefield near Inverness. There is the Black Isle Brewery, fine for Beer and whiskey distilleries. Days can often be flexibly arranged to accommodate trips further afield perhaps to Skye, other islands or cities like Edinburgh and Glasgow.
    There is a bus stop not far from the house and you can use our bikes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.6)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)



































Host ref number: 424371836492