Help us in our large garden in the middle of fields and woods in Devon, South West England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 62 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Please read our profile before contacting us. If you are from the EU or Switzerland, you do not need a visa to visit the UK for up to 3 months, even if the UK leaves the EU.

    Come and help us in the garden for 1 week (8 nights) - availability from August 20 to October.

    Non-smokers only. We are in a rural location, with no near neighbours or towns. We are happy to practise English conversation with you. We only host one helper from Workaway at a time and you live with us in the house.

    You must be able to entertain yourself (reading, music, DVDs, walking) when we are busy.

    We are looking for a flexible and enthusiastic helper who values the natural environment, and is happy to help us with any tasks around the house or in the garden.

    My husband and I are a quiet, mature couple. We tend to go to bed fairly early - so if you like to stay up late, we would like you to be quiet.

    We have no pets, we do not smoke or host smokers and we only use natural household products.

    We are looking for friendly, easy-going solo helpers, normally for a stay of one week. We would like you to work 4-5 hours per day (up to 25 hours per week) - gardening, cutting grass, clearing branches and brambles or spring-cleaning the house. In return, you will have:

    - Small bedroom - 4.5m2 or another larger room - when available
    - All meals - vegetarian or meat-eaters - vegan possible, we would need to discuss.
    - Books, CDs and DVDs
    - Very limited internet access - for emails only - and variable mobile phone signal.
    - No television or internet downloads
    - possible bike loan, please ask

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have hosted people from all over the world through various hospitality organisations for many years. We enjoy learning about other cultures and countries, and hope that you will be keen to learn about ours.

    We are happy to help you to improve your English through conversation. We have also hosted with other online organisations. You will see how people live in our rural area.

    My husband plays in a few amateur bands and there are opportunities to hear live music or attend a folk dance. We enjoy hiking.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like you to work 4-5 hours per day (up to 25 hours per week) - housework, gardening, cutting grass, clearing branches, moving logs, cleaning around the house. No previous experience or knowledge is required, just a willingness to be flexible. You will need to be fit and in good health. Not suitable if you have allergy to pollen, in Summer.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English; French; Italian (beginner); German;

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live with us in our house. We live in a 200 year old cottage surrounded by pasture and wooded valleys, in a pretty, peaceful area of South West England (County of Devon). We cook our meals on a wood stove and use solar panels for most of our electricity.

    Our garden (1.75 acres) is run for the benefit of wildlife, and consists of a grass meadow, orchard, vegetable garden and flower gardens. Small bedroom (4.5m2), or another larger room - when available. All meals included. We would like you to prepare your own breakfast, drinks, and sometimes lunch - food will be available. It would also be appreciated if you shared in preparing or cooking evening meals and washing up.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We do not have television but lots of books and DVDs. We have very limited internet, so access would be for emails only (via the Guest Account of our laptop). Mobile phone signal is also poor. We are 50 minutes walk from a bus-stop; 5km from a village. We can usually give you a lift by car to/from station or bus-stop. If you have a car, you would be more independent, but public transport links are available. Our nearest city is Exeter (40km) or Plymouth (80km). We live within reach of North or South Devon coasts, Exmoor or Dartmoor Parks by bus or train, or car. We may be able to lend you a bike, but you need to be quite fit as it is very hilly here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, 2 days off.




Host ref number: 643347855547