Come and help in our garden in Auckland, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 214 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I do furniture restorations and repairs. My partner, Margaret, is a manager in a English language school for foreign students. We live in Weymouth by the Sea , South Auckland. 10-15 minutes south of the Airport. We live in close proximity to the Honua Ranges and South Head of the Manukau Harbour.

    We are a couple with no young kids living with us.

    We cook at home most times and you will be welcome to join us. We like cooking but don't pretend to be "Foodies or Connoisseurs". For breakfast and lunch you will need to fend for yourself. Although we are carnivorous we do not eat any Pork product at home. We can provide you with evening meals when we are at home and cooking. It will be good if you can assist and help clean after. On the weekends we do entertain a bit with people coming over the weekend for a meal or BBQ's

    We have interest in fitness but we are not obsessed about it.


    Absolutely no smoking in the house or outside please. We are a smoke free house.


    We do like Art but do not pretend to know much about it.

    We have a black cat called Laila

    You can go fishing at the end of the garden when the tide is high. Swim in the harbour and if you can sail, you can take the dingie out.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are well traveled and mix very well with different nationalities and ethnicity. We are interested in current affairs. We are also very interested in Social Justice.

  • Help

    Help

    Work in the garden. The garden needs some on going maintenance. From weeding and planting to digging and cutting trees. We bought the house recently so some work around the house also needed.

    If you are mechanically minded I need some help with some basic mechanical work on cars and motorbikes. I have several cars from vintage-classic to retro to latish models. Will be very good if you can weld.

    Also, I need someone to teach me how to sail a small dingie. We have a dingie but need some lessons to improve.

    Cleaning is also needed. In particular, Spring Clean. Good scrub to the bathroom, cleaning the windows - lots of windows, dusting the surfaces. And so on. Must be thorough with cleaning habits.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hebrew: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent
    Chinese (Cantonese): Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own furnished room with magnificent view of the water. If you get early enough you will see some spectacular sunrises.

    Shared bathroom.

    If you have a car you can park it on the property.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 to 5 hours a day, 5 days a week









Host ref number: 639832343263