Help with permaculture and gardening in Baja California Norte, Mexico

Country

Mexico

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/11/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hola! Bienvenidos! :) My name is Dayana, I've been a workawayer myself, so I've convinced my family to join this amazing platform as hosts and they are looking forward to welcoming you here!.

    Our cozzy home is located in the city of Ensenada, Baja California (75 miles from the border with the US). We live on a hill and we have a beautiful view of the city from our terrace. Our neighborhood is nice and quiet, and well connected by public transportation/uber, or even walking! so you can explore the city everyday :)

    We have a tiny dog called Joey that is part of our family, he is one year old and lives inside the house. He is very friendly and a true explorer, and I take him to beach every weekend.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be part of our family :) we will teach you everything you would like to know about mexican culture and we would love to hear more about your culture and stories of your trips. My dad understands but do not speak english, so this is a perfect opportunity to learn and practice your spanish!

    I know what it feels to be a workawayer so I'll make sure you have a great time here! :)

  • Help

    Help

    My dad Rafael and my mom Hilda are both retired. My dad used to be a teacher and my mom is an entrepreneur who had a business for many years. I am 26 yo, hold a Bachelors Degree on International Business, I studied abroad twice, and love traveling. I took a gap year after school to workaway in Central and South America and it was one of the best experiences of my life! I recently quit my job to work on a film project and may start volunteering soon again!

    My dad is a true handy man, who loves carpentry and my mom is passionate about gardening. They have started an amazing project at our house with our organic garden. They do composting (some neighbours even give us their organic waste) and developed their own water recycling system. Additionnally my moms recycles plastic bottles and creates pots for her plants.

    We are preferrably looking for someone with some experience on gardening, permaculture, green architecture, etc., that can bring new ideas to this project! :) If you do not have any experience but love nature, are a fast learner and very creative, energetic and proactive, you are also welcome to join us! :)

    The help consists mainly on helping with the garden. 25 hrs per week, we are very flexible and we also want you to enjoy your time here and this beautiful city, but please be aware that we are a smoke and drug-free house. Our family and friends come visit very often, so we would like someone that is respectful, kind and enjoys social interactions.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At the moment, we can only host one volunteer at the time. You will have a private room, shared bathroom. We have Wi-fi available and a big kitchen and living room :)

    In exchange of your help we offer accommodation and two meals per day (breakfast and lunch). In case we are not available to cook, you are welcome to use the kitchen and the food available to cook for yourself :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time, you can chill at the hammock in the terrace or in our small pool outside (available spring and summer). Ensenada is a very touristic city, so there are many things to do. You can walk to downtown, go to the beach, try the local cafés and taste our delicious local food!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 236776513126