Hobby Horse Farm in Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 79 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I run a saddle import and retail business from home while my husband is semi-retired from running a manufacturing company. I am also a Hoof Care Specialist and am currently studying Equine Bodywork (Masterson Method). Our 3 grown daughters all live on their own.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Rural environment of 60 acres in the beautiful Mulmur Hills within an hour drive from Toronto or the waters of Georgian Bay. We offer a warm and welcoming family atmosphere of typical Canadian country living, with a little European twist of Swiss and German. We will share our knowledge and love of our country and our modern and very self sufficient home. This is a perfect place to experience active living in a natural setting.

  • Help

    Help

    Help around a modern hobby horse farm with a couple of milking goats, chickens and bees. Must be comfortable with handling animals as jobs include animal care and cleaning. General physical work includes fence setup/repair, grass cutting, gardening and yard work, possibly wood cutting and splitting, some household chores, and helping with a bed & bale in the summer. Experience with operating a tractor and electrical power tools would be great. Driver's licence is necessary. Riding experience welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guest room with private bath in the house. Evening meals will be prepared and shared. Note: We are a smoke-free environment.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots of sightseeing opportunities - Toronto (1+ hrs), Waterfront Collingwood or Barrie (35 mins), Niagara Falls (2+ hrs), Mennonite Markets; Provincial Parks, Camping, Golfing, Hiking and Mountain Biking, Skiing all close by. A car would be required for most excursions as public transportations is very limited.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 639462326334