Experience a self sustaining farm life in a rural coastal setting in North Queensland, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 367 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    39  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple (Katy and John), we live on a 500 acre rural coastal property at Guthalungra, North Queensland. Our property boarders the Elliot River and has views of nearby Cape Upstart and the Coral Sea. We breed several varieties of cattle and grow Kensington Pride mangoes which we sell to the markets.

    Our aim is to be as self sustaining as possible and with the help of our Workaway's we grow our own vegetables and fruit, our beef is grown on the property and our fish, prawns and mud crab we catch in the nearby Elliot river and Coral Sea. We have free range chickens to provide eggs and pigs for our ham and bacon. During March to September we grown a variety of vegetables for the household, where we can teach our helpers how to grow produce in our dry, hot climate. They learn how to prepare the soil, to pot and plant seedlings, how to weed around the plants, pick, dry and freeze the produce and how to make sun-dried tomatoes, jams, cakes, desserts, relish, pickles, chutney, preserves etc. We love seeing that look of pride on our helpers face when they learn a new skill such as making home made jam or helping John to fix a piece of machinery.

    Our helpers have their own fully furnished house across the road from the Elliot River where they can go for walks and fishing. We provide vegetables, fruit, eggs, meat and groceries produced on our property as much as possible. We invite our helpers to join us to prepare and share some meals. We take the time to show them our rural Australian lifestyle, and work alongside our helpers as teachers,

    Our property is located one and a half hours drive north of Airlie Beach where you can catch a boat to explore the Whitsunday Islands, three quarters of an hour drive north of Bowen which has some of the most beautiful swimming and snorkeling beaches in Australia and an hour and a half south of Townsville the largest city in North Queensland where you can catch a boat to Magnetic Island.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This property is located near the Elliot River and Coral Sea in a rural location. You will get to experience the real Australian bush and wildlife. We endeavor to provide our helpers with experiences such as boating, snorkeling, fishing and catching mud crabs. The skills they will learn is caring for farm animals, growing fruit trees and vegetables in the tropics, how to process the produce to store for later use and cooking. We have been Workaway hosts since 2013 and have hosted 117 helpers at the end of 2019, which has been an amazing experience that we very much enjoy. Hosting offers us the opportunity to share our way of life and learn about other cultures and food from all over the world. We are happy to be the "Australian parents" who can provide a caring home environment in a beautiful rural setting and be there in times to help when needed. We have welcomed back helpers for a second, third or fourth stay and keep in contact with many of our helpers.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with caring for our animals, the vegetable garden and fruit trees. Cleaning the helpers house and main house, sharing the cooking and general maintenance tasks.

    When we have a crop to pick to be sent to market we pay our helpers the going backpacker rate at the time. Currently the only crop we have are mangoes which are picked In early December. We are not able to sign of hours worked towards a second year visa.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We provide have a fully furnished very homely cottage with kitchen, bathroom, lounge, dining & laundry facilities, linen and free to air satellite TV which is located 1.8 kilometers from the main house. Helpers are given access to WiFi at the main house. There are fishing rods, crab pots and a small rowing boat at the cottage.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We provide an unregistered manual vehicle for helpers to use on the property to explore and go fishing along the river. There are lovely picturesque walks around the property and nearby river. For helpers who do not have a car, we will collect them from the nearest bus or train station and on days off will take them on outings to the Bowen beaches and other scenic spots. We will pick up helpers who do not have a vehicle from the nearest bus or train station.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

































Host ref number: 497798213937