Eat Well, Help and Live Beautifully in Massachusetts, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 302 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    36  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    937

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come help out on our lovely little farm in the fabulous town of Shelburne Falls in beautiful western Massachusetts, USA. We are Janice, artist and interior designer and Michael, professor of English and American Studies at Fitchburg State University. We are both active and engaged people. We like to run, cook, write, garden, and create, among other things. Our small lovely farm has cats, dogs and chickens and is set rurally but we are not too far from wonderful cultural activities. We are always chock full of new projects and creative ideas for beautifying our place and taking social and artistic action. If you love the land, good food, creative conversation, clear communication and the good life, come stay with us! (Must love dogs!)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will love to have you and it is my hope that we will learn from one another! I can teach you some of the basics of canning, cooking and bread baking as well as a thing or two about chicken care and gardening. Michael plays the banjo pretty much every day so musicians are encouraged to apply!

    We have an active household and often have friends stopping by so plan to meet lots of new people. In addition we rent spaces in our home so that brings in other new faces. Additionally, our friend has created a beautiful Tulsi Rose garden of concentric circles where she creates community gatherings and sounding rituals so if you like that sort of thing you will be welcome to participate!

    If you are a Spanish speaker I will enjoy practicing with you and I can help you with English if you like, no matter where you are from!

  • Help

    Help

    Hey There! Here at our Farm in western MA help needed will vary from day to day except for a few daily tasks such as animal chores, baking bread, and cooking or cleaning. Other help required can include raspberry picking, painting, transcription, computer help, organizing the attic, weeding our small kitchen garden and mowing (in summer), leaf removal (in fall) and shoveling (in winter). Currently we need some light building/construction help. As well, the chicken coop gets "mucked" every three month.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your accommodations will be any of a few options depending on who else is here. You may stay in a private little cabin off my studio or the Magic Room ( a space off our attic), or the raspberry shed. Either way, it will be cozy and beautiful.

    It is important to know that we have only one bathroom in our house that we all share thoughtfully.

    I am a professional cook and love to feed people healthy, delicious food. This will include our farm fresh eggs. :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the fabulous town of Shelburne Falls in beautiful western Massachusetts where open minded people and rural country living co-exist. You can swim, hike, ski, dance, practice yoga and hear live music all within 10-40 min of here. We are 35 minutes from Northampton, 45 min from Amherst, two hours east of Boston and New York City is four hours south. You can enjoy contra dancing one weekend and clubbing the next.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Workaway we Sandi and I created this lovely outdoor dinning room.
Home in Summer.
My work studio. Will you help me organize it?
The bathroom window.
Our kitchen table.
Fresh goat milk!
There is art everywhere in our home.
We might make jam.
Flower Power!
We live close to the beautiful town of Shelburne Falls!

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


























Host ref number: 635978485569