Help convert a van to an RV and remodel a basement into a home! - 30 min ferry ride to Seattle, US

Country

United States

Favourited 186 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1166

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!

    My name's Drew, and I'm a young fellow who's open to sharing his 1929 brick home to kind, outgoing travelers. The home is quite large and is being remodeled by my girlfriend and I, but is in need of some help. It has 5 bedrooms, a large basement, and a backyard with a sunset view over the Olympic mountains.

    Update! As of January 2019, we're also be starting a van conversion into a camper van! The Ram Promaster will be great to have a few skilled hardworking hands to assist with.

    Tasks that I require help with include some remodeling, handywork, building experience, gardening, yard upkeep, and basic manual labor. You don't need to have construction experience, but at least be willing to put on some gloves and carry a few things, paint, have an attention to detail, and get your hands dirty!

    Workaway appeals to me as I myself have explored the world and would like to now return the favor. I lived in Sydney, Australia for two years, and backpacked through New Zealand where I worked at a bed and breakfast.

    The location of the home is in downtown Bremerton, a quaint and relaxed port town that's a 30 minute ferry ride to Seattle. If you've visited Seattle and have seen the white and green ferries come in and out of Puget Sound, one of those routes goes to Bremerton.

    The home is in a very walkable neighborhood. It is a 10 minute walk from the ferry, and close to coffee shops and restaurants. It's a convenient spot for anyone without a car

    Bremerton is also a good launching point for anyone who's interested in exploring Olympic National Park.

    With my free time, I enjoy hiking, cooking, gardening, basketball, tennis, yoga, and entrepreneurship. Feel free to get in touch if you feel this workaway could be a fit :-).

    Thanks,
    Drew

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    From a recent homestay in Barranquilla, Colombia this year to a three week helping exchange in Wanaka, New Zealand at a bed and breakfast, I've been lucky to have been able to experience different countries as a local in various homestays, and I'd like to return the favor.

    I'm an American who's lived abroad (Sydney, Australia for two years), and am always up for stimulating conversations about culture, life, traveling, and everything in between.

    If there's time, I'd be open to going on a hike or exploring the surrounding region if you'd like. I'll be focused on remodeling the home, but want to make sure your stay is a memorable one outside of the tasks you'll be helping with.

  • Help

    Help

    There are two main projects I have at the home. It is a fixer upper that requires 1.) Converting a van into a livable unit and 2.) Converting a basement into a hip industrial living unit :-).

    For the home remodeling assistance, as of June 26, 2019 for JULY 2019 (we're still open to workaways next month!), we're looking people who can help clean and get physical! You don't require any handy skills as we'll simply be cleaning the home and basement, but you do have to be willing to work hard, be able to be self-sufficient, and get a little dirty!

    We're also always looking for help prepping for paint, painting, and helping tidy up messy work areas. We're looking for workawayers with a bit of carpentry or handywoman/man experience (construction or woodworking experience preferred - do message us!). That being said, I am open to anyone who's a quick learner and not afraid to be physical. From painting, to carpentry to everything in between, with your help you can help bring this home back to life!


    For the van conversion, any experience with plumbing, electrical, or finish work would be very much appreciated. If you've turned a vehicle into a livable unit yourself or helped build anything, I'm sure you would have some great experience you could bring to this project.


    You can choose to either help in the mornings or in the afternoon (4 to 5 hours a day), and have the remainder of the day free. Help is 5 days out of the week with the remaining 2 days free for you to explore the various hikes around the area or for you to venture into Seattle for a fun day trip. Also happy to front or backload the days for a full 8 hours to provide more full days off if you'd like.

    Thanks!
    Drew

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Intermediate Spanish, and beginner Mandarin Chinese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be able to stay in the home, which has 5 total bedrooms. Your own twin bed and private bedroom is provided. If you're traveling in a pair, I can provide you two a bedroom with a queen size bed or two twin beds. Bathroom is shared in the home.

    The home is functional, but humble at the moment as Workawayers and I will be living in the home while we remodel it. As of June 2nd 2018, the 2 guest rooms have been repainted by Workawayers, which is great!

    Breakfast, lunch, and dinner will be provided. Oatmeal, basic cereals, and some fruit will be provided for breakfast. Lunch will consist of sandwiches or some sort of equivalent, and dinners will have a main course with vegetables or salad. I enjoy cooking, and have actually worked as a food director for a traveling teen tour in the past (one of my random travel jobs). Overall, the food will be wholesome, but please don't expect gourmet. Of course, you're welcome to cook any dishes you'd like as well! I can help provide the groceries. Please let me know if you have any dietary restrictions.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You probably haven't heard of Bremerton, but it's a cute town that has easy access to both Seattle and Olympic National Park. Unlike a lot of the homestays, this home is located in a walkable downtown area where you can grab a cup of coffee, tasty meal, or movie at the cinemas in the evening. And Seattle is only a ferry ride away :-).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

working on the van project!
Thank you Edward from the UK for your help!
New cabinets with the help of workaway :-)
One of the remodeled bedrooms that you may be able to stay in
Old cabinets and kitchen
Newest project! Ram Promaster van conversion!
Newest project! Ram Promaster van conversion!
Lily the awesome Workawayer from Wisconsin!













Host ref number: 747926721131