Help with our dream of a self-suffcient lifestyle on the island of Bornholm, Denmark

Country

Denmark

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey :)
    We are an italian-danish family of 4 (kids from '18 and '20) and a cat. We recently bought a small farmhouse on the island of Bornholm, where we are slowly turning the 2 hectares of grassland into a bountiful food forest garden and a haven for insects and wildlife. We are primarily planteaters and our goal is to become as self-sufficient with food as possible.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    At our place you will have the opportunity to practice danish, italian or english and to join us in creating a forest garden from the beginning, learn about edible plants and plant production. You can also learn vegan recipes (or inspire us with new ones if you are vegan).

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people with practical skills like carpentry, gardening (permaculture), cooking, etc. We have an old ruin with many bricks we need to collect for use with building a large passive solar greenhouse. A kitchen garden that needs attention. We also need help with production of new plants (to be planted in our forest garden), creating more hugel cultures and general maintenance of the farm.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have an independent flat (3 rooms, kitchen and bathroom) on the first floor of our house with a sunny terrasse. There is also a big garden to relax in. We eat plantbased, so plantbased food is what we offer. If you want to cook meat, you are welcome to use the kitchen in the flat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have small children who goes to sleep early and eat even earlier. We would like to eat all together but we understand if 17.30 is too early for you to have dinner. We all go to bed early and get up early so we are mostly available and active during daytime.

    The island offers lots of beautiful sightseeing both of natural and cultural types. local transport is not the best but we can help sometimes with car or bikes.

    good Internet is available.

    Smoking is only allowed outside.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a good internet connection and you can be undisturbed in the apartment.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    up to van size

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 626919682713