Help in the house and garden for our small family 10km from Oxford, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 93 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/03/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    378

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    82.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there!
    We are a small household.
    Sometimes it is just me, sometimes together with my daughter 5 - Year old (plus a guest)
    We live about 10km away from Oxford.
    WILL suit people who are interested in Oxford visiting or taking a language course, etc..

    I am into natural medicine, holistic therapies, green, eco-friendly living ,etc...
    I studied Social Anthropology with great passion. I play percussion instruments, sing and play Himalayan Singing bowls.


    I am looking for mature people , with good understanding of English/ experienced in housework,
    You will be expected to do things on your own, unsupervised. You will be left alone/so you need to be problem solving type/a thinking person.
    So please only apply if you feel comfortable working with various housework tasks (it might be boring for some people or if you have not done much of these you may feel uncomfortable, etc..b
    So simply speaking I am looking for people who don't mind getting their hands dirty (in the mud or inside the house) I have to say that to avoid disappointment. As a reward you get a decent accommodation near Oxford .

    People sought who have sense of humor and relaxed, creative and with self- initiative.
    I prefer people who have interest in healthy life style, healthy cooking etc...

    PLEASE WRITE IN YOUR MESSAGE HOW YOU FEEL ABOUT BEING SELF-SUFFICIENT.
    In which ways you were self-sufficient in your jobs? you managed to solve a problem on your own? etc...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I love the outdoors
    I am looking for independent people who are able to organise both their work and the activities they do in their free time.

    If you stay here longer you could learn or we can swap skills

  • Help

    Help

    We need help in the house and a small garden and that could be depending on what you can do and what is required at the moment:
    1.putting things in order/ moving things around (we are still arranging furniture and stuff around the house after moving in 1 year ago)
    2. some small decorating like painting walls, cutting curtains - at the moment am especially looking for someone good at crafts, sewing (I am not 😜)
    we want to hang paintings on the walls, cut various fabrics, carpets, etc... So this would be an advantage
    3. Tidying up, helping sorting out stuff and put I'm the right boxes...
    4. Cleaning the house
    5. Some garden DIY projects
    6. Garden eg.: cleaning the garden, transplanting, mowing, raking, only light digging, No previous of gardening necessary

    7. Some little help with various DIY projects.

    8. From time to time WHEN my daughter is here (5 Year old) help needed with baby sitting, childcare, reheating or even cooking some meals for her (if you can), etc.
    (she may be with grandparents somewhere else so if you are only good on babysitting please- do not count on this so much - you will need to do variety of things

    The hours is a guideline only.
    The hours to help will be arranged individually , depending on your skills, the time of your arrival, and whole set of circumstances - we will discuss it when you contact me

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Czech, Polish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on the availability - You will stay in a separate room or (but rarely) share a room
    We will share the kitchen and the bathroom.

    It is a quiet neighbourhood so no loud music will be allowed,etc...
    There are meadows right behind our house where you could go for a walk or a run
    - village green on the other side.

    Bus goes to Oxford every half an hour (it takes about 35-45min to get to the City). The route is through the nearest town Abingdon (only 5-10min by bus). Very good connection for London.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can go to visit as much as you like. I am flexible.
    There is also very good connection for London
    I can help you with choosing what to see and also can take you locally to show you some places depending on my availability.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 25 hours a week or less

The Abbey in the next Village - a meditation and Art Centre
Host ref number: 622492711879