Immediate gardening help required OR skilled help needed converting an out building into an office. Must have previous sole experience!!

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 89 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/01/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We (3 friends) live in a 400 year old cottage located in one of the most beautiful villages in the country. It is situated in the beautiful Surrey Hills, but has train and bus for easy access to London and the nearby cathedral town of Guildford.

    We work during the day so you need to be happy to work alone and unsupervised. For that reason we ask that you already have the skills listed. PLEASE DO NOT APPLY UNLESS YOU ALREADY HAVE PRACTICAL BUILDING OR RENOVATING SKILLS. YOU WILL PROBABLY BE 25+ TO HAVE GAINED THIS EXPERIENCE (obviously this does not apply to gardening help).

    We like to socialise on the weekend but as we do hard physical work, we usually go to bed early during the week.

    I have just finished a six month stint doing workaway across 4 countries and now feel well set to become a host. We are kind and easy going people who will ensure that anyone who stays with us will be very well looked after.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    The cottage is an historic property and is in need of updating and general maintenance. There are windows that need to be stripped down, floorboards to be sanded and general painting and decorating. We also need to convert an outbuilding into an office.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some French. Would welcome some practice in Hebrew or Norwrigan

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Lovely spare room with double bed. There are two toilets so these don't have to be shared, but the bathroom does.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Village life is great here. There is an outdoor swimming pool, tennis courts, and the most amazing walking and cycling routes (it's a particularly good area for mountain biking) straight from the door. There are three cafes and four pubs within easy walking distance.
    There are regular buses to Guildford where a train to London takes around 25 minutes. There is a slower train to London 10 minutes walk from the village.
    If you come to stay you will hopefully be a lover of all things outdoors, and Mia the dog will be more than happy to keep you company on any adventures.
    I am happy to cook most of the time but it is also fine if you want to cook for yourself. The food that I cook is vegetarian and vegan.
    There is no smoking or shoes inside the house but you are more than welcome to smoke outside. We drink alcohol inside the house and out,

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 621484561317