Some fun helpers needed on our small hobby farm on the Mid North Coast of NSW, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 76 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/09/2020

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband Vern and I (Lyn) live on 25 acres of land within State Forest area on the Mid North Coast of NSW. We are surrounded by Australian bush with wallabies and many native birds on our property. We have a dog, chickens and a few pet reptiles that my son left behind when he went to university! We are only 10 minutes drive from pristine beaches and a small village with supermarket, bakery, doctor, pharmacy, post office, cafes and hair salons. It is a very peaceful location perfect for relaxing after a hard days work! We have a swimming pool to cool off in on those hot days. Because we live on a dirt road (1km from the main road) , there is no public transport (apart from taxis) at the house and very limited public transport into the village or nearby town. It is recommended that volunteers have their own transport or be prepared for me to drive them around (which I'm happy to do). Greyhound bus and trains stop in the town 15 minutes drive away. My husband and I are musical and welcome any level of musical ability :-) We are non-smokers and would like only non-smoking volunteers. The cultural exchange and sharing of travel experiences is also much appreciated :-)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers staying with us will gain insight into living and working in a semi-rural part of NSW , managing a water supply which doesn't come through the mains system and learning how to live with the threat of bushfires! Also gaining knowledge and experience with gardening and growing food in this often harsh environment.
    Taree is lucky to have some famous Aboriginal artists living and working locally and their art features strongly around the town and surrounding area.
    Lyn is a wealth of knowledge when it comes to the local bird life and wildlife which surrounds the property.
    Vern is a very handy man and has plenty of skills ready to pass on!!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a large vegetable garden which needs weeding, mulching etc and make it productive again! This will involve digging with a fork or spade and some mowing. We also have some general property maintenance work needing to be done. Some general garden work and work around the house is needed also.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a large comfortable spare room in our house and volunteers would have use of their own bathroom and toilet. Laundry facilities available. Wireless WiFi is available but it's not fast and limited signal through the house!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunteers would live as family and contribute to activities around the home as needed eg washing up etc. There is plenty to do in the local area. Bushwalking, beach walking, cycling in the bush, surfing at local beaches, canoeing at the local lagoon, fishing, bird watching. My husband and I like cycling, canoeing, kayaking, sailing etc and would be keen to take volunteers on day trips to local attractions, sailing on our local river etc if time and weather permit!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 619748314973