Help with horses in Picturesque Felton valley, Qld , Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 114 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/06/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    138

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I’m desperately seeking someone who is confident handling large horses from now for a few weeks; can take a couple or singles and flexible with dates. If you love to ride or just be around horses I have 3 in work.
    Lots of other things to do here - does not have to be helping with horse related things I have plenty of house and garden care or even farm activities if better suited.

    If you are energetic fun and wanting to become part of a family on a small farm in Felton Valley close to Toowoomba, please send us a message!
    Prefer someone with farm/animal experience but anyone good with their hands and willing to learn is OK too. Couples are welcome or 2-3 traveling together.
    There is a university in Toowoomba, plenty of clubs and bars and much to see and do. We are looking to have a person who has the ability to mix with anyone and has a good moral compass, someone open minded and fun to be around.
    Our teenage boys are very keen sportsman- mostly rugby snow/water skiing and tennis but turn their hand to anything so if your particularly interested in sport a bonus! They are away at boarding school during the school term so just my husband and myself at home mostly except some weekends.
    Internet access here for your convenience!
    Please no smokers.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will experience traditional Australian country life and see native wildlife including kangaroos and wallabies. As we are a very active family can experience typical Aussie lifestyle- it would be great if we can share our respective culinary knowledge.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a small farm that we are currently running as a cattle operation- unfortunately due to the terrible drought here in Australia our production is very minimal.
    We have dogs, chooks and horses which require care daily.
    Repairing sheds, yards and some stock work if it suits the workawayer. Work in and around the garden and someone handy with a is welcomed. you can really choose to do whatever suits you we are very flexible and happy to accommodate. Help around the home is always a bonus and we welcome help in the kitchen as we love to sample food from around the world! We prefer to have someone that is interested in getting out and about and learning about our region, we have a wide variety of things you could help with and wish for you to have a great experience!
    I have an equestrian coaching business and ride and train dressage horses- if you love horses and have some experience in this area it would be wonderful to have your help in this area...

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the family home with your own room. Larger recently built brick home.
    Own bathroom except school holidays and some weekends.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots to see in the Felton valley, especially if you are a keen farmer as many different types of farming operations in a small area. Toowoomba is 30 minutes drive. Gold Coast is 2.5hrs and Brisbane is 2hr drive. There is plenty to do in Toowoomba and many sights to see. It is one of the cooler climates in Australia so may be good for those not wanting to much heat.
    Waterskiing from time to time so if this is something you'd like to do we can take you. I have horses so the possibility to ride if capable, my horses are not for beginners!
    Lots of fun to be had!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 6169291794de