Enjoy living in the mountains in a beautiful area in Flumserberg or stay in the city of Zürich help with household

Country

Switzerland

Favourited 116 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/01/2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Update: I`m busy in the city of Zürich with moving and arranging, so if you`re interested in staying in Zürich for a while and help with household, arranging, furniture build up there is a big spare room to stay in the flat, and meanwhile explore Zürich. You can also combine city/mountains if you are interested. Asap. Cheers

    I (35, from Switzerland) have a small but wonderful mountain house in Flumserberg, with a wild natural garden. I`m about to recreate the garden to have more biodiversity and in a permaculture approach, for this basically the whole garden is going to be made new. The location is amazing, quiet in the mountains of 1000m height, with beautiful view to the Churfisten in the Region of Walensee. It is in a beautiful hiking area of Flumserberg, there are plenty of hiking options, cheese production sites, yet there is also the Walensee or mountain lakes for swimming close by. All is very good accessible by public transportation and only about 1 hour from Zürich.
    I have commitments with my job, so I`d be very happy if somebody could help me with the garden make-over and the general maintenance of the garden for this autumn. There is a separate small flat in the house, so depending on the amount of work awayers staying, you`d have your own room with kitchen.

    I speak German, English, Spanisch, Czech, French so we can easily communicate. I have travelled 1.5 years in South America staying at different farms through workaway, it has been an amazing experience. I`m very widely travelled, lived in many countries, did sustainable agriculture and NGO projects in subsahara and south america, have a permaculture design course and wide knowledge about the use of medicinal herbs, am open-minded and uncomplicated. I`m happy to hear from you and share this amazing place with fellow workawayers.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    - you can benefit in getting to know how to recreate a garden, adjust and select plants according to the different locations
    - share my knowledge about medicinal herbs, permaculture and my vast travel stories and experiences
    - learn to cook Swiss food and share stories over dinner
    - improve your German or other language skills (French, Spanish, Czech)
    - enjoy beautiful mountain area: hiking, downhill-biking, mountainbiking, cheese making, swimming in alpine lake, visit the city of Chur or country of Liechtenstein, visit Zürich (1 hour away) and many other things.

  • Help

    Help

    Update: just will move to a new flat in the city of Zürich so if you want to stay in the city you are welcome, help is appreciated for furniture assembling, arranging flat, hanging lamp, cleaning..Also it is possible to combine with the place in the mountains where you could enjoy being in the nature and do small things in the garden. I will be quite busy with work but can try to join for the weekend.

    Update: project nearly finished: gardening make-over, maintenance of garden, planting, composting, mowing the lawn, help around the house, preparations for the winter.

    The number of hours and days of help will depend on the weather and progress, maximum 5 hours 5 days a week.

    I will not always be around so trustfull, willing and independent volunteers are prefered who can organize themselfs and together. Guidance will be there and oportunity to learn from each other. Also its a place to enjoy the garden, nature, peace and mountains next to motivated support on the project with the garden. Its good to be able to spend free time by yourself or be with the other volunteers as this place is in the countryside, quiet,and has a different pace.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Czech: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room
    I can offer you a nice private 2-room apartment in the bottom part of the house, for 1-2 workawayers with beautiful mountain views and very quiet area. Or shared rooms in whole house depending on number of workawayers staying. Prefered non-smokers, also excessive drinking is not allowed. The house should be kept clean and tidy as we all live together. Kitchen and rest of house is all shared.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Only accepting requests from persons within non-quaranteen required countries and EU or Swiss citizen due to current situation. Insurance is up to the volunteer. Please dont apply if you have been in the last 2 weeks in a high risk area or country, see

    BAG (Bundesamt für Gesundheit) - regulations on quaranteen (also available in english

    for updates.

    Local public transport around area available (buses, trains).Parking possible if you have a car. Next Food store 10min by bus away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5-6 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 319238821345