Help us in our home in the nature near Vigo, Galicia, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 63 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we live in between the village in the nature and the town where the school is by the coast, depending on school timetable.
    At the village, we´ve got a big piece of land to take care of, with 2 big warehouses, a greenhouse and a house and 2 tinyhouses which we use and rent for a living.

    We love to share and be in between travelers and openminded people. We need help with the maintenance of the place, of the trees, the gardens, the water channels, wood, the houses and warehouses...so trustfull people with knowledge of gardening and DIY or building would be desired. We´ve got also an old dog which live in the village and would need some atention on cold days mostly, letting him in to avoid the cold when we are not there.
    If you like kids or have some of the age range of Antón, that would be wonderfull, he is 9, and likes survival, lego, animals, etc.
    I , Antía (40) used to work on organic vegetable prodution and travel before. At the moment trying to work as secondary school teacher on humanities subjects. I like nature, history, sociology, philosophy, to have a talk on interesting subjects, etc. easy people, no ortodox of nothing...

    50 meters down from our house is passing the Uma river, with its waterfalls, and a 2,5 trekking beautiful path by wonderfull forests. 10 minutes away, there are Btt tracks .
    A few kms away, there is Vilasobroso medieval Castle, Ponteareas town center, Castro de Troña, Mondariz Balneario and some thermal baths. A bit further is Salvaterra de Miño and portuguese border in Moncao. And like a bit less than an hour drive are the beautifull beaches of Ria de Vigo, Aldán and Pontevedra, Baiona, Nigran, etc. For snorkling, surfing, etc. Vigo city is 40 minutes away and St James path is passing 15 kms away from us, by Porriño.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our place is a beautifull piece of nature where you can get isolated if you wish or you may visit nearby towns. A big piece of land, with greenhouse, warehouses, you may have your own workshop if you wish, and nice forests and river. Very quite.
    We can show surroundings, teach language, learn working with hands or tools, knowledge on organic farming and wild plants, a bit of history, politics, sociology or filosofy, etc. share our life and became part of our family for this bit. We are very social, especially Anton.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with the day a day duties, depending on your preferences, skills and the time you´ll spend here, there is a lot of things needed to be done, none urgent, but all wishable, gardening (taking care of the vegetable garden, streamiing, prunning, decorating) , building (isolating a warehouse and changing the roof, covering the walls, installing door or window, improving the path down), a tree house or art work to improve the warehouse walls are also in between the ideas, but day a day, cleaning, cooking , tiding would also help a lot.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Galician: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate
    Czech: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accomodation may vary depending on the moment.
    At the moment we can only offer a tent, or a place for your own. Also, depending on availablity, we may have a room in the big house or a bed in the little appartment.

    We´ll share the bigest meal of the day, that we do between 2p.m. and 3p.m. normally that I or any other person , or together we can cook (I do not know if call it lunch or dinner). I don´t really like to compromise on dinner because we don´t always prepare something and timetables can be difficult to follow, and for the moment prefer not to compromise. You can use anything you can find growing on the property for eat in any case, there are different things depending on the timing and works done: apples, berries, figs and wild eatable plants (I´ve use them better for salad than the lettuce itself and I can teach you on them utilities and properties), kale, herbs, etc.
    Working time would be between 9 and 12:30 from monday to friday, at least we agree something else that fit us better. Every day is cooking other person, so, depending on how many we are, you´ll have to cook arround once a week for everybody.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is beautifull nature arround, forests, river and sea not so far. Towns to visit nearby are Salvaterra, Ponteareas, Moncao (Portugal), Ourense and Vigo. Termal waters, trekking, biking, surfing, etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I´ve got a decent internet conection, and room in the house or studio for winter, but if there is renting, the accomodation would need to be fitted depending on the flexibility of the person.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is enough space for parking a motorhome, and electricity and water availability. Missing for to be done, solar shower and dry toilet nearby.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We do not accept pets in the houses, and do not want to be concern about them, if they are quite, not disturbing others, neighbourds, and the responsible keeps the place clean do not need to be a problem, but until a sosteinable limit.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 20 hours a week, 2 days off

Host ref number: 231274478368