Help with gardening on our hobby farm and explore the National park in New South Wales, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 37 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/10/2021

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a German-Australian couple in our early sixties, have lived and worked many years in Africa but made Australia our home. Our hobby farm has four Dexter cows, and one Arab cross mare and one gelding. Our garden and paddocks need some attention after many years overseas. My aquaponics vege garden might be of interest to some.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a German couple in our early sixties, have worked many years in Africa but Australia has been home for the last 20 years. You can practise your German or English language skills in our home and enjoy our beautiful beaches. Our property is bordering Wallis Lake offering a quick swim, but it is flat and a bit muddy. The National Park is across the street and is great for hiking, mountain bike rides and camping. Ours is a cosmopolitan home and we have a keen interest in current affairs, politics, and are interested in meeting people from other cultures. You can share time with us, or go exploring on your own.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Our 11 hectare property on the MidNorth Coast of NSW has an aquaponic and wicking beds garden for vegetables, there are several paddocks with dams. Some parts need weeding and brush cutting along the fences. The lemon trees need care and also the bee hives need to be checked - if you wish. Old, dead trees must be removed or trimmed.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can accommodate one or two people in their own room and adjacent bathroom in our house. Alternatively we can offer basic camping inside or near our big shed. There is a bathhouse with a cold shower, toilet and sink and solar lights. A kitchen sink, bbq and solar lights are also in the shed which is open on one side. Our tent has two rooms and comfortably sleeps 2 people.
    We live on a rural property 26 km south of Forster. We can pick you up from the Smiths Lake bus stop. Public transport is limited. We usually drive into Forster for shopping once a week.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Anything to do with water can be done in our area. We have a small sailing boat and a tinny. The beaches are wonderful, National Park is opposite our road in walking distance. On weekends there is a community bus to the local recreation club, restaurant and at times live music in a beautiful setting on Wallis Lake. Elizabeth Beach is around the corner from there.

    Internet can be off and on and is unreliable during peak holiday times. As it costs us to buy the data we expect our guests to be considerate.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 225914175966