Help with our family farm and animal rescue in Alentejo, Portugal



updated   Last minute

Favourited 401 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Hello everyone. So, explanation time: On the 26th of February, I embarked on an adventure which change the course of my life forever, I had a one way ticket and flew to Portugal. Now I am still here, working on my family farm/animal rescue with my mother Amanda Jane we will host you. This has set a precedent in to my life which let me see what I can do to change the world and let me do it too.

    On this adventure I am doing everything I wished to do from; caring for animals (horses especially) to building raised planters. Here I can still practice all my hobbies ranging from pottery to archer y (I am far from skilled but it's an interest) to musical instruments.

    With being as busy as I am, I have now created this page to show everyone how easy it is to change your life. Before I came I was depressed and stressed, now feel as though I am full of life and ecstatic!

    I will be posting any and all updates that I can, I only wish to encourage people to change themselves for the better (I am not saying what I am doing is better than you, only saying that I feel better in myself.)

    Life moves in mysterious ways and we never know what is around the corner. So anyway, welcome!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Work hours can be changed around you if needs be but usually it works out around four hours to five a day. Two days off a week is allowed but anymore will be seen as laziness unfortunately. Days out are completely fine. They could include days to the beach, a day out driving/sightseeing e.c.t.

    Each and every night around dinner time we have a friendly catch up with one another, some nights will be a music night with our own instruments, others could be movie nights.

    We are very flexible and would love to have as many people here to help out and get mucky!

  • Help


    We need Mini Muckers! All ages and abilities welcome!

    The people I am after are: ? People to either work under me (as in I shall teach them)
    ? People to work along side with me (as in we shall work either on our own on different jobs or together on large jobs)
    ? People to work on their own (as in to potter or do bits and bats here and there)
    ? People to do jobs in pair or groups (I shall show you current or most important jobs to do and you can work together in your group)

    If you feel you are under-trained or ill-experienced, do not fret. You can come to learn or teach anything you wish.

    Permanent Positions are muchly needed but if you wish to work for one a week or two, a month or two or more then this is completely fine too.

    Current jobs positions that could do to be filled are;
    • Gardeners
    • Animal walkers/Muckers for anything from cats to horses/ animal groomers
    • Builders of all trades
    • Landscapers
    • farm work,fencing,brush cutting,mucking out etc
    • painting
    • artistic painters
    • digging flower beds,weeding,picking fruit
    • tree/bamboo pruning/maintenance
    • D.I.Y.ers
    • cleaners

    NO ONE WILL BE asked to help with preparing or serving either food or drinks to paying customers. We consider this to be too much like paid work to be suitable as part of a cultural exchange.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Your accommodation could be anything from a bivvy/ tent to a RV. If you have nothing like this, we have bell tents,then accommodation can be provided for you with prior arrangements.

    Your food shall be provided, whether you're a vegan/vegetarian or not. your food shall be prepared and cooked accordingly for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Days out are completely fine. They could include days to the beach, a day out driving/sightseeing e.c.t.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)

Host ref number: 578346239482

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more