Experience the culture and traditions in a small Portuguese village Coimbra, Central Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 117 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello I'm Rachel, I'm looking for people to come and help, have fun and share my space in this beautiful part of central Portugal. My house needs some work to upkeep and make small improvements. We love to have visitors, me, my dog Bety and cat, Bubu who are both friendly and chilled.

    My daughter and her partner are very close by along with their young son. I moved here nearly 3 years ago and I love living here. It is a fabulous location facing the mountains of Serra da Estrela national park. I have a small amount of land by Portuguese standards but there are various fruit trees and some olive trees and I am beginning to grow my own vegetables. Apart from the main house there is a cabin that can sleep a single person or a couple. I am on the edge of a village and 5 minutes from the nearest town Seia. I would want to make my visitors feel at home as much as possible and I enjoy going to different events, both Portuguese and expat.

    I consider myself to be environmentally friendly and aim to live in harmony with nature where possible but do not take things to extremes. This includes growing as much as I can so that it is fresh, pesticide free and very local.

    I enjoy cooking tasty meals for visitors and it's great if visitors share this too as it's always good to learn new dishes that I might not have tried cooking. I would provide meals or the ingredients for 3 meals a day (if preferred). I tend to buy and eat wholefoods and where possible, organic along with my own produce.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Visitors would be living in a Portuguese village so they would be experiencing the culture of this part of Portugal. It is a good opportunity to learn some Portuguese too. You could learn with me about gardening and fruit and vegetable preserving. Also how to cook tasty, healthy, nutritious and wholesome meals, cakes and snacks.

  • Help

    Help

    I would like help with gardening and house improvements. My garden has a variety of shrubs and flower beds plus fruit and nut trees, including olives and vegetables. When the fruit and vegetables are ready then I might need help with preserving. Some animal care might be needed.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I can offer my workawayers a cabin that is separate from the main house. It can sleep a single person or a couple. It is a small open plan living space with its own bathroom, including a shower. In front of the cabin there is a small patio facing the mountains. The whole of the garden can be enjoyed by my workawayers. There is room for flexibility with food which might be eating together, sharing the cooking or if you prefer it you can cater for yourself with the food that is provided. (Alcohol is not generally provided so please expect to purchase your own if desired).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The main attraction here is the national park. There are lots of river beaches around too. Some historical sights like Roman ruins. Mountain towns and villages. Seia is very close. I would happily negotiate transportation to places.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 862586112441