Join us on our funny (hobby) farm in the beautiful North Thompson of British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 227 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    57.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have just currently moved (June 18) to Barriere BC, located 40 minutes north of Kamloops, and are slowly settling into a new routine on 5 beautiful acres with our little hobby farm. Our little farm includes: chickens, ducks, peacocks, goats, pigs, horses, donkeys, cows, cats, dogs and fish.

    We are a couple in our mid-40s who live alone 50% of the time and have 3 daughters the other 50% of the time. We enjoy farming, pranking each other, sitting on our deck, going on adventures and watching movies.

    The house is amazing and comes with a year-round indoor pool. The Barriere area has lots of hiking and fishing opportunities and is about an hour to Sun Peaks Resort for skiing.

    To see more of what we are about check us out on IG - ask for our link- you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to always include workawayers in our social life with friends. If there is something or somewhere you want to go we will try our best to make it happen for you. After all...you aren't here just to work but to meet new people and see Canada!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Daily duties will include feeding and cleaning up of the farm animals. Other projects could include painting, stacking hay, paddock repair and maintenance, keeping the property and building clean and tidy and house sitting if we need to be away for a night.

    The majority of the chores will be outside...rain...shine...or snow :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers have the use of one of the 4 bedrooms in the house. It can either be set up for one king size bed or two singles. There is a 3-piece washroom in the upstairs that will be shared with the daughters on weekends that we have them.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    While here enjoy everything we have to offer....beautiful lakes and rivers, mountains to ski, hike or bike, glorious sunshine and tons of adventure!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 577329787678