We have lots for you to do in our intentional Christian community with large gardens and wonderful views over the Devon countryside.

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 358 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    35  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our home is usually shared with other people. It has plenty of accommodation, a large garden and wonderful views over the Devon countryside. We are gradually restoring it and making it a place for people to live together.
    We are a multigenerational group including retired people and a young family with a baby. We also have a dog. It is a busy household but there is always space to be quiet or to spend time alone.
    We often have people staying with us here, because they need accommodation, because they need a rest or a break, or because they want to try living in an intentional Christian community. We enjoy sharing with others who care about the environment. We are not vegetarian but we eat veggie food quite often. We have a rhythm of prayer in the house which anyone is welcome to join in, but it's not compulsory. We are involved in lots of village and church activities and people are friendly!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our workawayers live with us in the house, often work alongside us and share most meals with us so we chat a lot. We are happy to help them with spoken English if that is what they need. We try to enable them to see something of the countryside round here and to get to village events. Some choose to join in our regular prayer times and some like to exchange ideas about living in intentional community. We enjoy meeting workawayers and people usually enjoy their time here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help in our large walled vegetable garden with polytunnel, and with managing the rest of the garden too. We have some woodland and there is always work to do there. We keep hens and pigs, so if you enjoy helping out with animals that would be good.
    Inside, we are often refurbishing and decorating part of the house and we are looking for someone who will help with housework and sometimes decorating.
    If you can cook and would take a turn in making the evening meal that would be very welcome too.
    We would like someone who is flexible and happy to join in with what we are doing, just being part of the family here for a while.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, basic French, basic Nepali, minimal spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own room in the house or share with one other if we are full. It is not very modern but it is homely and comfortable. The bathroom is next door and would be shared if there is a visitor at the time. There are two sitting rooms both with internet access and a TV room. We don't have smoking in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are within walking distance of the village and Umberleigh train station is nearby, from which it is easy to get to the town of Barnstaple or the city of Exeter and onwards to the main line to the rest of the country. We are in beautiful countryside near to Exmoor and not far from beaches and the sea. We can pick up from the station and are happy to give lifts locally.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



















Host ref number: 571254638959

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more