Help with our private botanical/sculpture garden in southern Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 333 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *** Looking for help for periods of about ten days *** -


    Kitty and Nick have a magical garden dedicated to exotic trees, sculptures and music in the south of Spain. Kitty is a best selling author and award winning sculptor and Nick is an engineer and musician.

    We are situated in the mountains, 20 min drive from three seaside towns. There are nearby villages with bars, bank, grocery stores, even a night club. There are two bicycles for your use.
    With a simple search you'll find our sculpture garden website in Andalucia.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about the varied life and culture in Andalucia. Learn about life in an agricultural area. Gain experience in gardening, learning about art, materials, methods. The chance to play music with other musicians. Great walking country, and there is a pool.

  • Help

    Help

    PLEASE NOTE that we will ONLY host a couple or two friends. The place is beautifully located in the mountains looking down on the ocean, but slightly remote, so you need company. The preferred length of stay is about ten days unless for a special project needing special skills. Please note that we'll only accept smokers as a last resort.
    It is a place where you can gain experience in a wide variety of fields, and exercise your creativity and energy in diverse ways. A large part of the help consists of looking after the gardens (two acres), maintaining the sculptural installations etc., painting, fixing stuff, etc. depending on your individual know-how. Occasional tasks such as cleaning windows and helping with the main house.
    No kids or pets please.
    Help is 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. Very flexible.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers have their own private accommodation away from the house with bathroom and kitchen (fridge, freezer, microwave, cooker, toaster, blender). It has its own beautiful outside covered terrace with spectacular views. Also wifi.
    We ask volunteers to cook for themselves for which we provide a reasonable budget. It is supplemented by lots of fruit trees, avocados and a big veggie garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    People who love the outdoors, peace, nature, starry nights, clean air, music and art will be very happy in this place. Without transportation it is slightly hard to get about, but we always offer to bring our helpers to town when we go, to have an opportunity to explore and go to the beach etc. There are buses to and from nearby villages to the coast, also two bikes for your use, but the landscape is very hilly.
    A simple search for Sculpture Garden and Andalucia will find our website.
    Wonderful walking and hiking. Nightlife more or less zero, unless you want to get yourselves to the nearby village where there are a few bars. In some cases we offer to pick you up if it is not too late, but be warned, it is not the right place if you like to party.
    For winter months we recommend you have some kind of work or study project as evenings can be long.
    Accommodation has wifi.
    It's an easy and spectacular bus ride to and from Granada.
    Our closest town is Almuñécar, a charming seaside town.
    Arrival is easy... Buses to Motril or Almuñecar, from where we pick you up.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)


















Host ref number: 567187492563