Come and enjoy nature, sun and water in Sella, Spain




Favourited 269 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 22 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
  • Description



    Hi! We are Abel, Haizea, Roser, Enric and other animals (Caqui, Lua -dogs- and Bitel -cat- and chickens....) Living on the mountains of Alicante, near the Sella village. We live in a house, caravan and yurt, and we love to host people and share our daily lifes with people from all over the world!

    Note that we are living here, but not working here, so many times we are not at home, or we are here but working in our projects. This means that we look for people able to be OK with itself. Of course we love to share with hosts as much as possible! :)

    We are always happy to host people and enjoy new experiences!!

    We speak some english, french and portuguese, and we love to learn more and more. We are happy learning languages and teaching spanish and Catalan.

    Our land is approximately 3 km away from Sella (the nearest village).
    At home there is a spring of drinking water and a small river where we swim. It is a mountainous region with very much pine grove.
    In a few kilometers we find a big area to practise climbing. Also there are trekking routes.
    In the village (Sella) we find basic services as shop, bars, mail, Internet, doctor.
    It is forbidden to light neither any type of fire, camping gas, candels or other instruments of combustion out of the common area.

    At the moment we need help in:

    - Construction of a new DRY TOILET
    - take care of the vegetable garden.
    - Daily tasks: Watering plants, walk with dogs, clean the space, cooking...

    BTW, we want to share our space and time with people with ideas and motivation, so come, feel the space, and think if you are interested in doing something. Maybe just remove weeds on the garden, maybe build a big stairs with gold stones, or just take a walk with the dogs, cook or come with us to do dumpsterdiving at the markets....
    Everything is possible if everyone feels comfortable.

    We will provide vegetarian food and a place to sleep, we have the common house ( comfortable bed in common space with all needed), the caravan (private room for 2 people max with a bed and all needed) and also you can put your tent if you prefer to sleep more in nature. Please ask us before about the availability of these options (depends on the volunteers hosted at each moment).
    If you come with camping car/van we can find a place to park it near our house.

    We try to learn every day how to deconstruct the pathriarcal society, starting with us, so please not contact us if not interested :).

    Internet is limited, but in Sella there are some Bars with WIFI.
    If you come with animals ask us before, please! ;). We need to talk with our animals first and see what they want ;).

    We prefer vegetarian diet.

    We hope to see you soon! Welcome home!

    We ask for people coming be able to work with more people but also be autonom if, for example, if we are not at home for a couple of days.:).

    Write us if you have any question! HUGS!!
    Welcome home!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love travel and meet people when travelling. So we love to host people when they are travelling :D!!

  • Help


    Help us with daily activities like cooking, walk with the dogs, visit chickenhouse, water garden, search for food....

    And if you come and have an idea to develop a project here, great!!


    also some ideas:

    - Installation of community table to eat
    - Installation of outside kitchen.
    - To whitewash the small house
    - Clean terraces gardens to grow vegetables.
    - Installation of metallic stockades.
    - Maintenance and construction of channels for the irrigation water.
    - help in the garden of vegetables
    - Canes compilation for different uses. Methods of compilation, cleanliness, selection, construction with cane.
    - Constructions with cane.
    - Constructions with mud.
    - Dry W.C.
    - Outside shower.
    - Oven of mud.
    - Maintenance and construction of accesses and stairs with natural methods (wood, ground, stones...)
    - Maintenance of ceramic gardens and explanation of how it works.


    - Instalación de mesa comunitaria para comer
    - Instalación de cocina exterior.
    - Encalar la casita
    - Limpieza de terrazas de cultivo.
    - Instalación de vallados metálicos.
    - Mantenimiento y construcción de canales para el agua de riego.
    - Ayuda en la huerta de producción de hortalizas
    - Recolección de cañas para diferentes usos. Métodos de recolección, limpieza, selección, construcción con caña.
    - Construcciónes y acabados con caña.
    - Construcciones y acabados con barro.
    - Acabados del W.C. seco.
    - Acabados de la ducha exterior.
    - Acabados de horno de barro.
    - Instalación de gallinero.
    - Mantenimiento y construcción de accesos y escaleras con métodos naturales (madera, tierra, piedras...)
    - Mantenimiento de huertas cerámicas y explicación del funcionamiento de las mismas.
    - Otros....

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We have the common house ( comfortable bed in common space with all needed), the caravan (private room for 2 people max with a bed and all needed) and also you can put your tent if you prefer to sleep more in nature.
    If you come with camping car/van and you prefer to sleep there we can find a place to park it near thehouse.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are a lot of places to walk (is the region with more mountains in spain) or go in bycicle. Also is a good place to climb with a famous climbing zone in europe.

    Distances by car:
    Alicante (capital of region) 45 min.
    Beach (La Vila Joiosa) 10/20min.

    You can arrive by train to Villajoyosa from Alicante.

    Basic services in Orxeta and Sella: Post office (1 hour each day), health consultory, grocer's shop, bar, bakery.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have mobile connection, 4g from movistar. You must have your own sim card to be independent.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is a place 100 m away from home, under almond trees where you can park your van. Also there is another place near to the house, a public parking. no electricity or water available directly to the vehicle, but in the house.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We live with 2 dogs, 1 cat and some chickens. If you travel with your pet, ask us! Chickens needs to be without stress, so if your dog likes chickens... Our dogs and cats are ok with new animals (almost always :))

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours day/5 days week

Host ref number: 692169224416