Looking for help with our Permaculture foodforest project, renovation project in the Ribeira Sacra, Spain.




Favourited 791 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are Roy and Mia and live in the beautiful green heart of Galicia. We have a wonderful place of 7.5 ha, around the corner from a village, surrounded by nature. We live here as self-sufficient as we can and in accordance with the principles of Permaculture. We are living very basic. We have three dogs, a cat and 20 chicken. Cat and dogs do not live inside the buildings. We have 2 bee populations. We are looking for enthusiastic and physically strong people who like to help with the renovation of existing buildings. We have several skills, Roy is a draftsman and builder, bricklayer, plasterer, plumber and electrician for house installations. So if you like to learn those skills you are very welcome. Mia is / was a nurse, tailor / costumière (children, weddings and theater), hairdresser, and likes to work with her hands. We have followed various healing training / courses and we are both firewalk instructors. We both have followed the one year permaculture training in Holland in 2009. Working together and exchanging knowledge is our goal and creative ideas is what we like, especially the execution of it!

    Hallo! Wij zijn Roy en Mia en wonen in het prachtige groene hart van Galicië. We hebben een prachtige plek van 7,5 ha, om de hoek van een dorp, midden in de natuur. We leven hier zo zelfvoorzienend als we kunnen en in overeenstemming met de principes van Permacultuur. We leven hier vrij basic. We hebben 3 honden, een poes en 20 kippen, de poes en honden leven niet in de gebouwen. We hebben twee bijenvolken. We zijn op zoek naar enthousiaste en fysiek sterke mensen die graag willen helpen met de renovatie van bestaande gebouwen. We hebben verschillende vaardigheden, Roy is een tekenaar en bouwer, metselaar, stukadoor, loodgieter en elektricien voor huisinstallaties. Dus als je die vaardigheden wilt leren ben je van harte welkom. Mia is/was een verpleegkundige, coupeuse/costumière (kinderen, bruiloften en theater), kapper, en werkt graag met haar handen. We hebben diverse healing opleiding/cursussen gevolgd en we zijn beiden vuurloop instructeurs. We hebben beiden 1 jarige permacultuuropleiding in 2009 in Holland gevolgd. Werken en kennis uitwisselen is ons doel en creatieve ideeën is waar we van houden, vooral de uitvoering ervan!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about Permaculture and gardening, and using strimmer/weedwacker.
    Also several building skills, bricklaying, plastering, plumbing, and electrics.
    Experience living of the grid and being self-sufficient.
    You can practice the English, Spanish (school lessons) and Dutch language.
    Free Spanish lessons once a week, from a skilled teacher at school. No lessons during school vacation.
    Processing the food from the land.
    Enjoy living in nature.
    Taking a warm bath in the Hot Springs in Ourense.
    Living the Galician culture and contact with the original inhabitants, visit the local bar, where people meet here in Spain.
    Visit the local markets, in our village twice a month, 17th and the 29th of each month
    2 hiking trails close by.
    Cycling in the hilly landscape.

    Je kunt leren over Permacultuur en tuinieren, werken met bosmaaier.
    Verschillende bouwvaardigheden, metselen, pleisteren, sanitair en elektriciteit.
    Ervaren hoe het is om zelfvoorzienend te zijn en leven "off grid"
    Je kan de Engelse, Spaanse (school lessen) en Nederlandse taal oefenen.
    Gratis Spaanse lessen 1 keer per week, van een bekwame leraar op school. Start begin oktober.Geen lessen tijdens de schoolvakanties.
    Het voedsel van het land verwerken.
    Genieten van het leven in de natuur.
    Een warm bad nemen in de thermale baden in Ourense.
    Leven in de Galicische cultuur en contact met de oorspronkelijke bewoners, bezoek aan de plaatselijke bar, waar mensen elkaar hier in Spanje ontmoeten.
    2 keer per maand lokale markt in het dorp op de 17e en 29e elke maand.
    2 wandelroutes dichtbij.
    Fietsen in het heuvelachtige landschap.

  • Help


    There are two buildings that need to be refurbished, Handy man/women are very welcome, or to learn some building skills.
    Garden maintenance and garden expansion and with your help we can create a foodforest.
    Garden chores: weeding, planting (fruit) trees, sowing, harvesting. Felling and pruning trees.
    Animals: feeding the dogs, making a chicken coop, sheep pen, bee cabin.
    Building a wood stock and splitting firewood.
    Cleaning the water source and covering it.
    Anything else to be done on a farm.
    The work we have is physical.
    In return you'll get 3 meals, and other delights of the garden. (depending on the season) coffee, and tea from the garden.

    Er zijn twee gebouwen die moeten worden opgeknapt, handige mannen / vrouwen zijn van harte welkom of om wat bouwvaardigheden te leren.
    Tuinonderhoud en tuinuitbreiding en met jou hulp kunnen we een voedselbos creëren
    Tuinwerk: wieden, planten (fruit) bomen, zaaien, oogsten. Bomen kappen en snoeien.
    Dieren: de honden voeren, een kippenhok maken, schaapskooi, bijencabine.
    Een houtvoorraad aanleggen en brandhout kloven.
    De waterbron schoonmaken en afdekken.
    Al het andere dat op een boerderij moet worden gedaan.
    Het werk dat we hebben is fysiek werk.
    In ruil daarvoor krijg je 3 maaltijden en andere heerlijkheden van de tuin. (afhankelijk van het seizoen) koffie, en thee uit de tuin.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch (both) , English (both) , Spanish (Roy, Mia is learning),, Papiamento (Roy), some German (both)

  • Accommodation


    The (insulated) wooden cabin, with a terrace and a beautiful view! One solar lamp available for the evening. No electricity In the cabin. Gas heater available if necessary.
    In a room that we are refurbishing, ask for this possibility
    Or in a tent, you sleep in a bed. (summer)
    Toilet is a dry/composting toilet, also a 'normal' toilet in a bathroom that we are refurbishing
    When the sun is shining we can take a shower in the white cabin, or heat up some water to take a shower.
    Water comes from our source, drinking water is from our water spring, and is tested.
    You can charge your phone during the day, if you need more internet, you can go to the 2 bars nearby in the village! (500m)
    We do not smoke, but outside you can, we like to know beforehand if you are a smoker (profile) we dont smoke during the workhours. No drugs and excessive drinking.
    We like honesty and respect for our way of life.
    We eat everything; vegetarian, but also meat, chicken, fish, but to a degree, no vegan at the moment.

    De (geïsoleerde) houten blokhut, met een terras en een prachtig uitzicht! Een zonnelamp beschikbaar voor de avond. Geen elektriciteit in de blokhut. Gaskachel beschikbaar indien nodig.
    Of in een kamer die we aan het opknappen zijn, vraag naar deze mogelijkheid.
    Of slaap in een tent op een bed. (zomer)
    Toilet is een droog/compost toilet, ook een 'gewoon' toilet in een badkamer die nog opgeknapt moet worden.
    Als de zon schijnt, kunnen we in de witte blokhut douchen of wat water opwarmen om te douchen.
    Water komt van onze open bron, drinkwater komt uit onze waterput en is getest.
    Je kunt je telefoon overdag opladen, als je meer internet nodig hebt, kun je naar de 2 bars in het dorp gaan! (500m)
    We roken niet, maar buiten roken mag, wel willen we graag van te voren weten of je rookt. (profiel) Tijdens het werk roken we hier niet. Geen drugs en overmatig drank gebruik.
    We houden van eerlijkheid en respect voor onze leefwijze.
    We eten alles; vegetarisch, maar ook vlees, kip, vis, maar tot op zekere hoogte, geen vegan op dit moment.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Busstop 2 km away, train station 30 km and a busstation at 10 km to Santiago, Vigo, Ourense and Lugo, Monforte de Lemos.
    In the village (500 meters) are two bars, (one bar is also a resaurant) a bank with ATM, hairdresser, tourist office, butcher, and a baker at 1 km.
    A little supermarket and postoffice, bars/restaurants at 2 km
    There is a swimming pool, free entrance, 2 km from us, every day open in July and august, open between 16-20.00 hour.
    2 bikes available.
    Mobile and laptop can be charged in the kitchen at daytime.
    Everybody who eats/lives here, helps with washing dishes and cleaning the table, this are no workinghours, it is a part of how we live.
    What to bring: if you have, boots for outside work and for rainy days, and clothes that can be dirty. (we have some sizes of boots).
    A cap against the sun.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    After 5 days work, 5 hours a day, you have two days off

View from the hill
Wooden cabin room for two people or a couple.
fruit tree, the little house and pigsty (no pigs)
vegetable garden
The hot springs in Ourense, very nice town to visit!
The wooden shower cabin
Our dogs, Banjer, Drogo, Boef
Roy and Mia enjoying the view

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.4)

Communication: (4.9)

Host ref number: 574589413132