Learn about living sustainably and growing food organically in Central Victoria, Australia.

Country

Australia

updated   Last minute

Favourited 46 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are Amy and Latham. We live on a sustainable homestead in Central Victoria, Australia. We have sheep and alpacas and chickens on our 42 acres. We also grow vegetables and fruit.
    We are a family of 5 (three kids ages 5, 7 and 9) and live as waste-free as possible. Our children are home educated and very active on our farm.
    My partner works 4-5 days a week outside of the farm and I run a small business. We generally need help with planting, weeding, harvesting, preserving, help with the sheep and other gardening jobs.
    We are also interested in our children learning different languages.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn how to farm in a sustainable way.
    Learn how we live lightly on this earth with minimal waste.
    Learn alternative farming methods.
    Learn the English language.

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment we need help both in the garden and household chores (dishes, vacuuming, general cleaning).
    We are mulching our fruit trees and herb gardens. We are also planting trees.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom in our house. We are currently looking for bed frames, so at the moment the high quality mattresses are on the ground. They are comfortable single mattresses. The room is spacious and we have room for more than one guest (see photo).

    We offer 3 meals per day and some snacks in-between. Most of the meals are vegetarian, expect for the occasional meat meal from our own meat grown on our farm.
    There is one bathroom and toilet to share for the whole household.
    We have 2 spacious living rooms, one of which can mostly be used by our workaway guests.
    We can offer you internet to email, but not much else as we don’t have a lot of internet.
    We have a cat, so sorry if you have allergies to cats!

    Please Note:
    - We collect our own rainwater, so please be conscious of how much water you use during your stay with us.
    - We generate all our own power. We have solar power, so can't use any heavy machinery (including washing machine, dishwasher, iron, etc) during cloudy days and during the night.
    - We produce our own cooking and hot water from our wood fire stove (and solar power in summer). The stove is hot all over when a fire is going.
    - We try not to produce any landfill rubbish. If you do produce rubbish during your stay please ask for a plastic bag and you can dispose of the rubbish on a visit to town.
    Thank you!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are so many beautiful sights to see here in Central Victoria. We can drop you off and pick you up from a particular sight or at the train station/bus terminal.
    There is also lots happening in our community: workshops, farmers markets, artist markets, community events, etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 566636436249