We need some help with gardening and recovering from bushfires in our family house located in NSW, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 401 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    36  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/07/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    283

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our home is located on a magnificent forested conservation property. It adjoins World Heritage country and is surrounded by vast areas of forested land offering spectacular scenery. Wonderful hiking opportunities into some spectacular wilderness country.

    Our place is not resort style but it is welcoming, comfortable and a beautiful down to earth home.

    We ask for 5 hours a day or equivalent 5 days a week and we can offer you comfortable accommodation with a private bedroom, internet, healthy meals and a welcome friendship. We can cater to most diets and we are flexible about help exchange.

    Our place is off the grid with well established organic gardens.

    We appreciate and expect social distancing, extra care and kind consideration of others welfare in these pandemic conditions. We have two kitchens and several buildings so this is possible here without any stress. Please do not apply if you are unwell, we are in a very vulnerable health category. Thank you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would invite you to discover the spirit and wonders of the wilderness. We live amidst the pure beauty of these ecologically unique and biodiverse forests. It is home to a many native species, 29 of them are on the rare or threatened species list.

    Our natural environment has proven to be our best teacher, and has helped open our hearts to recognize the ancient wisdom that closeness to nature brings, closeness among humanity and all living beings. We do our best to live sustainably as part of nature, all life is interconnected.

  • Help

    Help

    This is my wish list but whatever you can do towards helping would be appreciated:

    We have been impacted by bushfire around our place in the forest, it burnt out a lot of country and it is recovering. Our houses are OK but we had heavy machinery putting containment lines for the fires around the place and it needs to be restored. The vegetable gardens which we depend upon, need attention, but there is good organic food being produced which we eat every day.

    We would also like some help in the home and possibly land maintenance. Nothing major but a helping hand would be very welcome, any contribution towards achieving these goals would be helpful and much appreciated.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have comfortable private bedrooms. We like to have healthy fresh abundant meals, with as much produce as possible from our own organic gardens. Once the virus isolation period is over it is a combination of shared cooking and meals being prepared for you if you or you are also welcome to cook. We will provide all ingredients as part of the exchange. We can cater to most diets.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are great hiking opportunities into the surrounding forests, pristine streams and spectacular views of wilderness areas. We adjoin World Heritage forests, and National Parks. The local town of Dorrigo is 43km away, under the current pandemic conditions, it is easier if you have a car,

    Our place would appeal to someone who is wanting to enjoy and deepen their connection to the natural world.

    Travelers love this place and its welcoming atmosphere. We look forward to meeting you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our latest project yet to be finished - raised bed gardens with a cover to keep wildlife away from food.
A friend helping with seedlings.
A little help in the kitchen
Pristine stream on the property, springing from the adjoining world heritage forests.
Some of vegetable gardens
Accommodation for Workaway guests.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)





















Host ref number: 222221911785