Help out with general maintenance and garden projects at our villa, a design home at Nesodden, a peninsula near Oslo, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 495 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 21 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello workawayer. We would like to invite you to our home, an old, large, historic house at Nesodden, a peninsula near Oslo.
    We need some general help with gardening, some painting work inside and outdoors, building some fences out of branches, but also carpentry, landscaping, mechanics and plumbing. We appreciate adult workawayers, preferably couples, with a variety of work experience, practical skilled, handy, positive thinking, self going, well organized and not afraid of hard work nor getting dirt on your hands.
    Fredbo means peaceful living. The house has been pictured in a range of interior magazines, and beside being a private home it often serves as a location for weddings, film making and photo shooting.

    I work as an interior and garden designer, stylist for real estate and magazines, and have been self-employed since 1999.
    I´m practical skilled, hard working and not afraid of a challenge, creative and productive, and have a wide range of experience.
    I have three sons: Emil, 30, who lives in the north of Norway, and Oliam 15) and Agaton (12), who spend one week of two here with me. They all speaks fluently English .
    Animals that lives here ( (outdoor) is one cat, 10 chickens and 4 koi fish.

    Beside general keeping of the yard and house I always have some projects going on.
    In 2015-2016 I had 4-6 workawayers constantly from April to December, some of them became friends for life.
    Among many things we painted the main house and finished a part of the yard. We built a chicken coop and a quail coop. And we finished building the fish pond.
    Last autumn we finished a huge job in the main yard, adding 60 tons of stones, gravels and soil.

    I used to arrange "huskonserter", intimate music events featuring local and nationally recognized artists, but this year there will probably be no music events.

    We are easy going people and love to meet new people.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can offer you a nice and peaceful place to stay, with the forest right outside the fence great for hiking, several lakes to go swimming, or you can go for a swim in the Oslofjord just 5 minutes walk from the house. Wake up with the only sound of birds singing. Go for a visit in the capital Oslo close by, or the cozy small town Drøbak with the tiny streets with tiny yards full of roses and with old tiny wooden houses. We even have some caves in the neighborhood, close to our house.

    The Norwegian summers are bright, nice and (often) warm with daylight in June from 3am until 1am, and with the most beautiful sunsets. Swimming in the lakes or in the Oslo fjord right outside the door is just amazing. The water temperature might reach 20-22 dg celcius in July/August, but the air might change from 35 - 15 degrees within just a few hours.. So bring clothes for all type of weather.. :)
    Often we spend the evenings in the yard around the campfire, so welcome to bring your guitar if you have one :)
    The autumn and the winter frost, is also very beautiful. And during the winter we have to deal with a lot of snow, and are of course doing winter sports. They say that Norwegians are born with skis on their feet, well, sometimes we might go skiing.. Cross country skiing or downhill, or just go outside playing in the snow. We also like to go ice skating on the frozen lake next to the house.

    And of course, I hope me and my sons will be a nice company :)

  • Help

    Help

    About you:
    We appreciate adults (age 22 - 60) with a variety of work experience, practical skilled, handy, positive thinking, self going, well organized and not afraid of hard work nor getting dirt on your hands. Physically strong and with good mental health.
    We also prefer workawayers who come as a couple because most likely they will offer a greater array of skills between them, and tend to operate as a self-sufficient unit, organizing their free-time together and keeping each other company.

    Type of help required from travelers :
    - painting the gypsy wagon
    - painting an old caravan
    - building some fences out of branches
    - painting some rooms inside the main house
    - painting the orangery inside ( ceiling and windows)
    - gardening
    - building a patio, groundwork with gravel
    - landscaping
    - wash the walls and ceilings inside the main house
    - wash windows
    - plumbing (if a plumber would come by)
    - logging and cleaving wood
    - general maintenance
    - and cleaning up, just some general help in making the yard and garden look nice during the year.

    And if you have some good carpentry skills:
    - perhaps finishing the three house or building a pergola on the patio in front of the caravan.


    You work for 5 effective hours 5 days a week, normally from 9 am to 3 pm, with lunch at 12:00-13:00. You will have the weekends off.
    If a volunteer wants to extend the weekend by having Friday off, this can be arranged after asking for permission minimum 3 days before, and of course with an agreement of making up the hours at another time.
    Similarly there may be projects which have to be finished the same day, even though this means staying on a little longer than usual.

    I will have a clear idea of the activities to be done, perhaps even in the form of “To Do checklist”, and have everything in place so that volunteers are clear about what needs to be done and have all the necessary tools and materials.

    If you are a handyman / handy woman and have good carpentry skills I would be happy! :)

    Volunteers must be willing to do whatever needs doing.


    Food:
    • We will provide normal food such as veggies, beans and lentils, fruit, pasta, rice, bread, cheese, coffee, tea, and of course other daily used ingredients. We don´t eat very much meat or fish, love vegetables but are not vegetarians :)

    • We do not provide a lot of meat or seafood, nor either special dietary requirements or organic food only, not candies, alcohol or juice / pope. This is because food in general is quite expensive in Norway.

    • Dinner preparation / laying the table and washing up will be seen as a shared responsibility after work assigned via a rota system.

    • Some days we will be giving our helpers supplies and leaving them to put their own meals together as and when they prefer. We provide food, but as you see it doesn’t necessarily mean preparing it.

    To be honest I'm not the type who likes to spend a lot of time cooking when I have other projects going on, so if you like cooking I would be really happy for all help! :)



    Clothing:
    The weather can change fast in Norway, and some rain and cold days won´t stop our projects :) So it would be smart bringing some clothes that can meet all kinds of weather :)





    House rules / etiquette:

    • Domestic responsibilities: Everyone share the cooking, as well as the cleaning of the shared rooms. Always clean up after use and leave the shared rooms spotless.

    • No smoking inside the house or your private room.
    • Cigarette butts MUST be thrown away in the designated container only!

    • Pets are not allowed.

    • The Workawayers are responsible for keeping the peace at our home.

    • Any consumption of alcohol must be contained at a responsible level. No drugs.

    • Clearing up after using materials and rest times.

    • taking shoes off indoors

    • asking permission before using or borrowing something.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian and english.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One of the nice rooms inside the house, or a cozy old caravan in the yard or perhaps the gypsy wagon.
    Quiet and peaceful.

    - free wifi
    - Shared kitchen and bathroom
    - Access to a food preparation/kitchen area.
    - Access to a washing machine.
    - No limits on energy/water consumption.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    When you have time off:

    Nesodden is a peninsula in the inner Oslo fjord.
    You can visit Oslo, less than one hour from the centre by bus/boat.

    My old historic house is nice for chilling, it´s located at the west side with sun from morning to late evening. View to the fjord and pond in front of the house.
    Go for a walk in the forest behind the house, and enjoy a swim in the pond in the forest with so clean water.
    Relaxing, beautiful garden with room for private escapes.
    My house can serve as a place to spend relaxing days, and as the base for outings to Oslo, Drøbak, Tusenfryd amusement park, or the Oscarsborg fortress in Drøbak.
    It's a quite neighborhood with food stores about 2,5 km from the house.

    Drøbak
    16 km with bus to Drøbak, a popular holiday destination with beaches and a charming city center. Small soccer field.

    Oslo
    42 km and 50 min with car to the center of Oslo. Frequent bus and boat service to Oslo, and a few times a day to Drøbak.

    The caves
    You can also visit the caves of Spro / Spro-gruvene just around the corner.

    Café
    I will recommend visiting Hellviktangen art café at Nesodden, with delicious organic food in beautiful relaxing environment. And maybe enjoy a swim by the sand beach if you like!

    Outdoor activities
    We have several beaches nice for swimming in the Oslo fjord. Midsummer the water might reach 23 degrees celsius.

    You can reach all this with bus or/and boat.

    Go for a walk in the woods! Swim in the Oslo fjord!
    Or go kayak paddling, paddle boarding or fishing in the fjord.
    Go skiing wintertime, we always have a lot of snow during the winter.
    Or go skating on the pond.
    And believe it or not, the Norwegian summers are so green and sometimes hot! Or not so hot! You never know.. :)
    Fitness center at Fagerstrand, 2,5 km.
    Bring your bicycle or rent one in Oslo
    Or just relax..



    The bus stop is only 3-4 minutes walk from the house. Bus stop: "Søndre Spro"
    Corresponding bus and boat to Oslo takes 1 hour, price NOK 59 one way.
    In the weekends you can catch the last boat from Oslo to Nesodden at 3:30 am

    For more information about things to do, visit the websites of Visitoslo, Visitdrobak, Visitfollo, Tusenfryd (only in Norwegian) and the Oscarsborg Fortress!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week

Atelier
The livingroom
The livingroom
The kitchen
The bathroom
The bathroom
The bathroom







Host ref number: 873748898423