Jenny

  • Ireland
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    At home

  • Description

    Hey how goes it, I'm Jenny, originally from Ireland I've traveled to a few places, Canada being the most frequently visited returning to teach pottery for 3 years at a kids camp.

    Last year in 2020 I lived in Pitt Meadows BC, helping to mind twins, where I fell in love with the community through getting little jobs through the facebook community group to clean/organize and paint homes as a way to get a little pocket money to travel around Vancouver before the Pandemic hit, where I also got to live on a hobbie farm through the people I met looking after 3 horses, a donkey, chickens, doggo and cats.

    I particularly loved these experiences as it gave the opportunity to meet some of the most wonderful, kind Canadians ever that make me feel less of a stranger, so grateful for the people I met!

    Now I am currently figuring out traveling plans for 2022, hoping to continue my graphic design work while getting experience more of the world and take it from there!

    Hobbies;
    I love the outdoors from being immersed in nature from a young age, entering fishing competitions, kayaking, urbexing and hiking to name a few, from these experiences I have gained a great respect for our home planet and love to learn about new sustainable ways to live.
    Passions;
    Along side this I adore art especially illustrating and photography but have done a variety of mediums from my studies for example, ceramics, screen printing, painting, illustrating, graphic design to SFX make-up effects.
    Personality;
    I've been told that I'm a kind, respectful, easy to live with and expect the same from others, I'm laid back but spontaneous always try to say yes to new experiences and share my own.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Winter sports
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Photography

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    - ART + PHOTOGRAPHY -
    Studied both, initially taking art and design, then studying Fashion Design and Marketing at uni. From learning these skills i'm particularly interested in graphic design as I love to work with Photoshop, Illustrator and Indesign.
    - GARDENING -
    My dad was a professional gardener at Mount Stewart which is a 19th century estate, owned by the National trust, of which his father was the head gardener before him so over the years they have taught my a lot about plants, having our own large garden with our own vegetable patch.
    - COOKING + BAKING -
    I have loved cooking, have been encouraged from a young age, going to after school cookery clubs to being able to survive of my own cooking at uni with roast dinners, soups, plus many other dishes at uni rather than just frozen bags of food and toast..
    Being mildly lactose intolerant and recently becoming a pescatarian, plus my mum being gluten intolerant so I enjoy finding new recipes for both of us so I know a great Gluten free scone recipe if your interested!
    - CHILD CARE -
    Having worked at a kids camp seasonally being with the same group for up to 2 months at a time I understand how energy and patients this requires but I find to to be some of the most rewarding work as I've made some very strong bond with campers and love to see them return each year growing up becoming their own person, and seeing them use skills I've taught them getting better and better!
    - GENERAL MAINTENANCE -
    Returning to kids camp the past 3 years, when I'm not teaching pottery I'll often be on dinning hall or maintenance, of which I love because it has taught me so many practical skills such as using a hand held jig saw, drilling/mending, painting and using a wood splitter. Along side this my family have often moved from house to house doing it up where they taught me all of their practical skills to take with me in the future so I don't have to pay someone else to come in and paint.
    - CLEANING -
    As part of the maintenance work at camp we cleaning out the cabins between groups, my boss was a stickler for making sure the job was done well, which taught me to pay close attention to detail, while maintaining a fast pace as often there would be a group leaving that morning with another one coming that same day, having 50 or more cabins to get through as a team.
    Having proven to always achieve good work I was also trusted to clean our bosses home as he knew the job would be done right.
    - FISHING + KAYAKING -
    Both more personal hobbies, as I used to enter fishing competitions when I was younger but came away from it due to studying but hope to get back at
    it!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    25

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm a pescatarian (only eats fish)

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback