Maintenance, gardening and cleaning in a beautiful and quiet area near Salzburg - upper Austria

Country

Austria

updated  

Favourited 55 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/05/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're a live-loving, openminded, energetic and fun family who lives with 2 cats and 2 chickens in the southwestern part of Upper Austria 🇦🇹, just 30 km north of Salzburg. I work as a teacher now, but used to work in tourism, restaurants and a travel-agency. I also spent almost 2 years living abroad, in the USA 🇺🇸 and Italy 🇮🇹. So I/we really love to meet people from different countries and cultures and would like to share time, space, experiences and work.

    I live here by myself since my daughter moved out but she often comes visit, my mum lives on the second floor and we are an open house with friends visiting and hopping in very often. I love being a host and inviting people from all over the world into our house and garden is definitely my thing, I love it :)


    Looking forward to hosting creative, nature and garden interested people who don’t mind sweating and getting their hands dirty, maybe have experience in construction work with concrete or pond-building! See you 😊

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cook and enjoy Austrian and international meals together. Language learning (German, English), herbs and gardening, Salzburg - culture and festivals, the surroundings, getting to know the mountains and go swimming in clear lakes and rivers. Sometimes, when I’m not busy doing other things I can be a very good guide to our local sites and beautiful nature places. I’ve also done quite some special travelling and love to share stories about that. You will be treated like a friend and you will be involved in what’s going on here. So even if there’s just you as a single workawayer you won’t get bored but still have time to enjoy what you like doing.

  • Help

    Help

    First of all we would like to welcome you like a family member which besides sharing meals, dinner-talks and board games also means sharing everyday chores like helping setting the table or empty the dishwasher, think in family-terms when making tea, etc. 😉 !!!

    Workaway-Job/Update 01/03

    Painting the house on the outside (incl. climbing on ladder), cutting the tree, renovation of veggie Painting inside, some deep cleaning/emptying closets, oiling floors, getting the garden started, picking weeds, cutting hedges, planting, ...

    I would like to build a stairway to what should become a pond, an outdoors toilet/shower house, a henhouse. Picking fruit. Picking weeds. Building flowerbeds. Needed at times: people with some physical strength, construction and building skills, creativity.We have several projects in our full organic garden: like shoveling soil and gravel from one spot to the other, straining compost, building a wall alongside the garden (creative) and there is also a future-to-be Pond (now it's just an ugly whole in the garden), mowing the lawn, cutting trees, cleaning the henhouse, watering, harvesting, picking weeds and plums. So for some jobs a certain physical strength is helpful, although, I as a woman can also do these kind of things.

    We don't have huge projects - they are small to medium sized... couple of hours, couple of days in order one is done. So we don't necessarily need long term workawayers, it's also nice to have someone just hop in and out for a couple of days, help doing one or the other thing.

    I will explain the projects that have to be done at the beginning of your stay and expect them to be finished nicely. If you don’t know how to do it, please ask! I will always be there to work along, explain new skills but I also expect self sufficient working to a certain degree. I don’t want to host kids who don’t have a clue about real hands on! I have done workaways myself and know what I am talking about. ;)

    If you read this, please include „happy chicken“ in your request. I will not accept random applications or copy and paste requests.

    I am a generous person but I also expect you to bring along a good working spirit. If there’s a challenging situation, I prefer discussing it openly. Always ready to learn myself. 😊

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, some Italian, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    It really depends on the time of the year, what we can offer. In general we are a quite open house, so one day there's just me, then the other day we are all at home. Most likely we can provide a very small but separate bedroom (shared with the washing machine in use during the day only) and a shared bathroom, and very rarely an own bedroom with a bathroom ensuite.
    If you prefer, in summer you can sleep in a tent in the garden. We can provide full equipment for that.
    Let's just communicate about what you need to be happy and we'll see, if we can provide it.
    Overall it should be a win-win situation, so if you stay just for a short while, doing little work a couch might be just fine and totally acceptable for you.

    What I always guarantee are fresh and clean sheets on the bed (couch) and a clean bathroom (which we keep clean together!!!) what for my feeling are essential things to feel comfortable!

    The rooms are part of our apartment in our two stories family home. My mother lives on the first floor, we live downstairs. You have access to an own terrace. You can fix your own breakfast or eat with us. I cook nice dinner on most days, you can enjoy with us. We are mostly on the veggie-side... if meat, then organic from local farmers. Meals are included and we expect about 4 hrs work a day plus normal participation in everyday household-chores.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We also have bikes for your use, there is a beautiful lake 3 km from our house and a train station just 3 minutes walking distance from the house. 35 - 45 minutes to Salzburg by train for € 13,50/day ticket.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Me, solo travelling across Europe
Cooking for my last year workawayers during my visit in France ❤️
Cutting a cornfield by hand in Moldova
One of my favorite hobbies: Geocaching
The garden & hen
Yummy food
The extended family :)




Host ref number: 557621395327