Help renovate our barn, not too far from Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 348 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our group of people consists of Monique (55) & Matthis (12) living in the farmhouse and Arrad (53), Marleen (36), Iza (17) & Nora (12) living in the former stables.
    Next to our homes there's a big barn that we're turning into a place with meeting rooms and B&B units.
    Arrad also has a teashop in the centre of Amsterdam. Marleen is a psychiatric nurse.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers can experience the traditional Dutch countryside (flat farm lands), all the while being relatively close to Amsterdam and Utrecht, which is another very nice and beautiful old city in Holland. Just around the corner of our home there are natural reserves that are a paradise for bird watchers and fishermen.

  • Help

    Help

    Hello to all Workawayers from around the globe.

    We are 3 good friends with 3 teenage kids, a dog, 3 cats and 4 chickens. A year and a half ago we bought a beautiful farm house with a big garden, no farmlands though, and started renovating the old house into 2 new homes. That's all done now, but next to our new homes there is a big barn that we are now turning into a place with meeting rooms and B&B units.

    Arrad has a lot of experience in building, but does need help of course. The renovation started some 18 months ago and, thanks to the help of some great Workawayers, is coming to it's end. But there's still a lot of little stuff that needs to be done, like putting up lamps, hanging mirrors, hanging curtains, small paint projects some carpentry projects, some plumbing, lots of cleaning.....
    Therefore we're looking for a handy couple (or two friends that are not afraid to share a room) that have experience in construction/renovation that can work with only a little guidance, since Arrad can't always be there.

    So to all handy people with experience in renovations, please contact us!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One of the just built apartments will be reserved for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can expect us to provide you with wifi, good tools and whenever the weather is right we'll have a barbecue all together. Public transport is a short bike ride away. The bus takes you to Amsterdam, The Hague or Rotterdam in approximately one hour and to Utrecht in a little more than half an hour. The nearest shops and supermarkets are only a short bike ride away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    If you come with your own campervan, we do have space for you to park, you can take showers and go to the toilet in our building and enjoy the 'living room' and kitchen with the other workawayers.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 553732122946