Enjoy the nature while help and co-create the garden of Almaria - in Rio grande do Sul, Brazil

Country

Brazil

Favourited 360 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/07/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1704

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!
    My name is Pedro, and you are being invited to spend time inside the site which i glady have been taking care since 2012, this land belongs to my family since 1994.
    Is basically where we meet to celebrate life, exchange knowledge, have contact with nature and where we also dream together. Friends, companions and travelers are invited to co-create in this garden of Almaria, peace, connection, knowledge and development.
    You will be very welcome here!
    Feel free to leave your essence in this place!

    The site is not very large, having around 5 hectares, the functions demanded are basic, such as cleaning and maintenance of the house and the surroundings, as well as taking care of few animals.
    In the free time feel free to make handcrafts, meditate, read, study, relax, connect with the place, with the animals, with the trees, etc...
    From time to time we have events, can be a party or a weekend of meditation, medicine of the forest and connection.
    The more time is spent here, the more it is possible to understand about this space, about the people who inhabit it, and about ourselves, there are nights which we spend hours talking under the stars (here it is VERY starry at night), making food around the outside oven, or even visiting some place here in the city or nearby.

    There are several interesting places to visit near Frederico, such as the faguense waterfalls, or the amethyst fields and mines of the nearby city of Ametista do Sul, around 30km north of Frederico there is another city called Irai where you can find indigenous villages (Kaingang Tribe), medicinal mud and one of the best mineral waters in the world! We even have the longest waterfall in the world about 80km from here, its know by the name of Salto do Yucumã and its inside the Reserva do Turvo, a protection zone which is in the border of Argentina also, so we are close to it too.

    All these factors make this region very diversified, rich, and worth knowing ...
    On top of all this, there is the greater purpose behind the reason we are receiving you on the workaway!

    The "Almaria project", this is the name of the site here, and in this place we shall build spaces for events, pleasant gardens to be, an agroforest for food, gardens and indoor planting systems, we also want to build some places like tiny houses using the resources we got from here, like sustaitable wood, stones, and clay.
    All this aiming at the elaboration of a sustainable and exemplary environment, that can be frequented by the public, and used by schools and small producers of the region as a place of learning, demonstrating how it is possible to live in different ways and also enabling a multi cultural interaction with the passage of travelers here.
    Little is yet accomplished, but gradually everything becomes more tangible and real.
    At last I can say that what we are looking for are people willing to venture and immerse themselves in a unique experience that can be part of your life forever, and where you can be proud of being part of in the future! : D

    --
    WHAT KIND OF VOLUNTEERS WE ARE LOOKING FOR:
    We strongly need people who get knowledge about buildings, and land care aswell.
    But also people with strong cooperative mindset, people who can work in the land, and who take pleasure on being in the woods, we need you to be 'pro-active' in here, and see what is needing to be done. Coz when it cames to taking care of nature everyday is a different day and we got different stuff to do, but mostly we need people who can connect to this dream and this place.
    We shall suplie you with the tools, and tasks descriptions.
    Note we do not provide food - but sometimes there are dinners and bbqs happening for celebration some work is done or harvest time.
    Altough we do have crops, salads and herbs which are free for volunteers to feed on.

    >>>>>>- PLEASE ONLY APPLY IF YOU ARE REALLY INTERSTING ON COME- <<<<<<

    We are situated at Frederico Westphalen - Rio Grande do Sul - Brazil, you can search for it at google maps, the best ways of getting here by airplane is going to Chapeco - SC and taking a bus. There are buses coming from São Paulo > Curitiba > Frederico.
    You can also get plane to porto alegre and then bus to frederico.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn:
    Portuguese
    Build stuff
    Cultural excentricities from the Gaucho style of life
    Working on crops
    Working with trees
    Medicine from nature
    Natural healing practices
    We also work with some 'jungle medicines' like Rapé (rapÉ not rape, google it if you don't know about hahaha) in here
    Before pandemy we used to have events like shammanic weekend, reiki degree, hipnosis, yoga class etc...Now we are more on the path of having people and interacting with them deeply in order to create a singular process for every volunteer we have, its very good to see people going home with a better perspective of the world.
    And also We like to play music here, if u play anything u can join us.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help to do the hand work of projects such as:
    Digging fundation holes
    Cutting Eucaliptos trees
    Building floors with wood planks and nails
    Building roofs
    Building houses and shelters for animals

    I also need help to take care of the house and the animals, aswell as maintain the ordem on the surroudings of the house, where the dogs keep on bringing bones, woods, and stuff hahaha

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We got the main house, where its situated the kitchen and living room, by there there is one bedroom and bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Once we live in a really small town there's always time to go to a waterfall or spend time with friends, at town you shall find pretty much anything u need and a lot of delicious meals.
    If you are familiarized with lord of the rings, think about it like the shire ^^"

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    No wifi at country side but 3g connection happen, wifi at office site 5km away from the house.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Possible

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    If your pet is pet friendly you can do it!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    From 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week tops

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 556869735734