Experience the Kaipara Harbour, and the rest of Northland, New Zealand from our beautiful property in Pahi

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 23 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi. We're Diane, Jim and Grant, and at the beginning of 2020 we were lucky enough to purchase just over five hectares (12 acres) of land on the Pahi Peninsula, at the northern end of Northland's enormous Kaipara Harbour. It's a beautiful property, with nearly half the land in native bush, right on the harbour's edge.

    Diane and Jim have lived in Northland for many years; Grant has just arrived back in NZ after way too long living in Sydney. We're making this a home for two families (and a lot of friends!) Pahi is a great place to visit while exploring Northland, just two hours from Auckland.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As mentioned earlier, we've only been on this property for a few months, so this is a great chance to see what harbour lifestyle living is like right at the beginning. We have already started a native tree propagation programme, which would be of particular interest if you are keen on ecology; our native bush has an invasive weed problem which we are tackling in a big way and it's very rewarding to see the results after even a day's work.

    We're all laid back and happy to share the kiwi lifestyle if you are visiting NZ, or even if you're local and checking out Northland.

  • Help

    Help

    We have big visions for this beautiful place, which include sharing it with family and friends, from around New Zealand and the world. (That includes friends we haven't yet met!)

    If you are interested in helping us with tasks like plant propagation, bush planting, weed removal, fence repairs and general tidying, we'd love to have you stay.

    Although no specific work experience is required, most of the chores we are doing is physical, and outdoor, so it would help if you were fit, and had work clothes (boots are handy.)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two spare bedrooms - one with a queen sized bed, and one with two singles which can be combined to a double. The house is quirky, 1970s architect designed, and has a swimming pool - and a sunken conversation pit with a fireplace!

    Mostly there will be just Grant at the house - Jim and Diane might be here if you are staying during a weekend.

    We'll have food available for you to help yourself to breakfast and lunch, and we'll cook dinner to share in the evening.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Pahi is not close to public transport, so you'll definitely need your own vehicle. We're only five minutes from Paparoa, which has a general store, pub, petrol station and a couple of cafes - and there's a small farmers' market on Saturday.

    Swimming is excellent - specialy now it's getting warm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Heading down to the harbour.
Looking West, to the Paparoa Creek.
The resident drag pheasant. This is Eleanor - he's a Chinese Golden Pheasant and is quite tame.
Looking East, to the Pahi River.
We're right in the middle

Host ref number: 227663136221