Come and help around our Picturesque place in southern in Izvalta, Latvia

Country

Latvia

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Owner of a picturesque land in south Latvia. I'm intending of building there an permaculture homestead, some cob houses and be independent energy wise (both wind and solar powered).

    The area is picturesque as the nature has overgrown in areas where people no longer live. The region has been experiencing depopulation for the last 20+ years so nature has largely overtaken areas which earlier were grazing or arable land. There are many natural lakes and woods and in general it's been an area untouched by any big industrial enterprises.

    For the time being there isn't any power grid connection, as I'm planning to install solar panels in the near future. Electric appliances can be charged in town (at a public institution with sockets available in public spaces). There is a quite good mobile internet coverage, but there is no wi-fi. There is available transport within 2 km of my place with a local bus (2 times a day).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The stay at the homestead would benefit those coming from knowledge in natural building, composting and basic permaculture principles. Also it is a good way in getting acquainted with a tri-lingual region in Latvia, where almost everybody is speaking at least 3 languages (Latvian, Russian, Latgalian - a dialect of Latvian) and even English. In general Latvians are known for their cherish of local folklore, so there are events all through the year when Latvians/Latgalians/Russians dress in traditional costumes and participate in singing and dancing events, with plenty of local/locally cooked food. There are also historical re-enactment events, where the old Latgalian presence is also celebrated.

  • Help

    Help

    The area, situated in a marshland, needs clearing of brushes and long grass. The forest needs clearing of dry and dead branches which make access quite difficult. There are some old wooden barns and a sauna house that need restoration and a bit of cleaning. And the house needs gradual dismantling, as it's no longer safe for living. There's a small pond next to the sauna house which also needs to be cleaned.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Latvian (Lettish): Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    Danish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Tent or barn (with plenty of hay). In terms of food, the sources are rather scarce as the land hasn't been worked for many years and there are no crops as yet. So you will have to buy the food while here. Starting with August and going to October the orchard is full of apples. People with cattle are happy selling milk and diary products. Also there is the option of buying vegetables from the few locals for a fraction of the cost in the town (located approx. 10 km away). The town, however has a few supermarkets, specialized stores, banking and other services.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 551414519611