Outgoing people wanted to help in a hut in the Rila mountain, Bulgaria

Country

Bulgaria

Favourited 155 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    703

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 19 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small community of friends and family, working at 2300m altitude in the Rila Mountain, far from the fuss and buzz.

    The hut owner Ventsi ( "hijar" in Bulgarian ), began as a volunteer in the hut 26 years ago. 10 years ago he bought the hut, and started renovating it as a sacred place for all people who love the mountains.

    Every year the team changes as we all have a life down in the city, but there is a core crew of 5-7 of us that try to help every year, so the hut can maintain a stable community in the changing world.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Working in and out of the hut you will get a 360 view of the micro and macro cosmos. It is not just the beautiful place, but also the people from all over the world, that make the experience a perfect mix of satisfying work and time for yourself. We will gladly share our food and roof with you. You may enjoy hiking in the mountain, playing music and art.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    The basic tasks that everybody starts with is housekeeping and looking after the guests, so that workawayers can get to know the environment. Once the basic tasks are done, there is more creative work. The hut needs renovations and handyman work, there are also interior design projects. There are horses to be fed and cared for, two dogs and two cats. There are ongoing projects with solar power, stove shower, waste management and more.

    As the owner lives there with his family, we are looking for a friendly person that can take care for his 6-years old son Krishna. He is a vibrant and curious kid who needs to practice foreign languages, sports and art. The young "hijar" loves hiking in the area. His mother is an actress and he is not an exception.

    We are currently working on a big project - to rebuild two of our cabins into stargazing glass-roof guest rooms. We need strong and skilled people for carrying materials and building the cabins.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Bulgarian, English, Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Dormitory room for the hut team. If preferred camping is also possible. There are no single rooms and no running hot water ( we need to warm it up :)
    All supplies for the hut are delivered by horses several times a week. We are mostly vegetarian, but meat has to be cooked for the guests. if you have special dietary requirements please check with us in advance.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The hikes around the peaks are a must. You get a chance to walk on sacred places, drink pure mountain water, pick herbs and breath clean air as much as you can. The river is 3mins away from the hut. We are located a 4-6 hours hiking away from the nearest transportation spot. You can easily find a place to meditate or do yoga with no distractions. The mobile connection is 5min walking from the hut and there is no wi-fi. The Rila monastery, the Seven Rila Lakes and Maliovitsa peak - some of the most visited locations in Bulgaria are 3-5 hours hike from the hut.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ventsi
Jana and Krishna






Host ref number: 534999836525